Anyone find an overclock / CPU booster that works

Discussion in 'Sylvania Tablets' started by Cat88Extreme, Apr 6, 2011.

  1. Cat88Extreme

    Cat88Extreme Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Sylvania Sytabex7
    I have tried a couple that say they should work with a rooted android on the oem ROM, but none work so far. Has anyone found one that works. I used Universal AndRoot to root my tablet (EX).
     
  2. cfrockit

    cfrockit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Sylvania SYNET7LP
  3. Carbira1

    Carbira1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Michigan
    Tablet / Device:
    Waiting for a good iPod Touch Android Device
    Are you sure that your proc. can be overclocked?
     
  4. Cat88Extreme

    Cat88Extreme Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Sylvania Sytabex7
    Well I was more looking into this for processor reduction when possible to save battery life. I am very interested in Froyo though. I just need to read through the posts about loading it. I am also very happy about having a bootable SD card backup with Froyo. This is my second tablet, the first one froze when doing an update and wouldn't go past the Sylvania name at startup, without a bootable SD card backup I could do nothing to fix the first tablet.
     
  5. cfrockit

    cfrockit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Sylvania SYNET7LP
    Hold off updating since you're using the OTG port. The better performance could be because some basic services such as the ability to mount USB devices was left out of the update.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Spindizy

    Spindizy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    KCMO
    Tablet / Device:
    I hate the IE captcha.
    overclocking typically requires a modified kernel. And on the ones that it says it does not require a modified kernel, the frequency, and clock multiplier values are dynamically settable through procfs or sysfs. In kernels that it says it will work with that are OEM, Thats why. I havent tried to look at the kernel for this too close yet (mainly because we dont seem to have kernel sources... Which AFAIK is way against GPL..) but im willing to bet money, marbles or chalk, that the cpu freq's are locked/and or hard coded. Thats why you wont have any luck with them, not till that changes or we get new kernels or kernel source.
     

Share This Page