Anyone's wifi giving them problems?

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by noweakness, May 4, 2011.

  1. noweakness

    noweakness Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    My wifi works fine but on my acer its seems to stick. Like its a pain to download apps from the market cause it has to attempt to download so many times until it will finally download. Just seems like its having trouble holding a connection even though it says its connected with a strong signal
     
  2. suade907

    suade907 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I haven't noticed anything like that. Overall mines been pretty solid. I had one diconnect since I got it but its been solid since.
     
  3. pentool

    pentool Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Are you having issues with streaming sites as well, eg YouTube? Navigation to other sites? Maybe it's market related?
     
  4. noweakness

    noweakness Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Well it seemed to freeze up while playing words. Its starting to get aggravating. Maybe just a faulty set

    Also, my tablet seems to randomly turn itself on (the screen lights up) when sitting idle doing nothing.
     
  5. chili_red

    chili_red Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500, Viewsonic G-Tab
  6. noweakness

    noweakness Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
  7. deags

    deags Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    I just got my a500. I am having a similar issue in regards to wifi. It can't seem to hold the connection, no matter what I am doping... Browsing, youtube, market, doesnt matter. Drops out and seems the only way to fix it is to shut down and restart. It's particularly annoiying as the connection only seems to ever last a few minutes.
     
  8. noweakness

    noweakness Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Well i've come to realize most of the problems I am having are market related. The market is very very slow and non responsive when it comes to downloading an app. It usually takes a long time for the download to begin.

    If I leave my tablet on for awhile it and try to use the wifi I get poor performance so I can either restart the tablet or turn off wifi and turn it back on and performance seems to get better, but I think my biggest problem is the market thus far.
     
  9. 71free

    71free Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I am experiencing regular dropouts too. It doesn't seem to matter what signal strength or app either.
    Have you had any luck sorting it out?
     
  10. dhornick

    dhornick Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia tab / moto droid x
    i posted this problem in a previous thread. a wi fi extender fixed all of my issues
     
  11. bonzer2u

    bonzer2u Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Southern Oregon...
    Tablet / Device:
    NookColor
    I exchanged mine for another unit and had significant improvement. I was also advised by acer tech support that there was a known hardware issue with a batch of wifi modules...... ​
     
  12. GreyLeader

    GreyLeader Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    A couple of days ago my A500 informed me there was a system update available (376.99MB). Amazingly, it has been downloading ever since and whenever I have checked on progress it tells me that the speed is anything between 1KB/s and 43KB/s. This seems to be the case no matter how close the device is to the wireless router/modem.

    Right now 324MB has been downloaded (48 hours and counting).

    I cannot believe this is normal and would welcome any thoughts there may be out there on what the difficulty is.

    The only other device in the house accessing the wifi routinely is a PC (and that sometimes seems very slow too with YouTube etc. being very jittery and spasmodic).

    Looking forward to any responses,

    GL:confused:
     
  13. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    You posted in the wrong forum.

    You should call your provider and *****. You could do better on dial up.
     
  14. GerardFreeman

    GerardFreeman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia a500
    My wifi keeps going oo and off.....every hotspot I go to the same mess..I just had this tablet for 2 days...I am taking it back for another one

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  15. GerardFreeman

    GerardFreeman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia a500
    I just got a new one and took the other back. It works great now:) ... look at the date on back of the box, don't buy the ones that have April or older on it...get the ones that have May or later...I also got a color fold out that I didn't get in the Arpil box....also I have a few more apps to my May box :) it update to 3.1 fast:) nice!!! May

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2011

Share This Page