Cannot Tether with my Droid

Discussion in 'Nook Color Technical' started by FergatROn, Mar 4, 2011.

  1. FergatROn

    FergatROn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Fairburn, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Motorola Droid
    Hi,

    I'm having a problem getting my newly purchased NC to tether with my rooted Motorola Droid. I'm running the ever-so-popular "Wireless Tether" version 2.0.7. A friend of mine was able to see my SSID, but my NC isn't seeing it at all. :confused:

    Do I need to have my NC rooted or am I using the wrong channel? Thanks for any help.
     
  2. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
  3. faceman

    faceman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor on CM7 nightly w/ 1.1gHz OC
    NC must be rooted to see ad-hoc networks. Mainly because you have to apply an updated wifi_supplicant file to enable ad-hoc. Also, I am Droid X illiterate so maybe your wifi is broadcasting an infrastructure network in which case you should be able to see it...
     
  4. FergatROn

    FergatROn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Fairburn, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Motorola Droid
    Awesome, thanks @faceman and I'll check out that link @darmeen
     
  5. chmoto

    chmoto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Rooted Nook Color, Rooted Droid Incredible
    That's strange because the day I purchased my NC I used my Dinc's wifi tether app and had no problems connecting my NC. I registered my NC in the car while my wife and the kids did some shopping. I browsed the web and downloaded a magazine.
     
  6. FergatROn

    FergatROn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Fairburn, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Motorola Droid
    That is odd. What's a "Dinc"? Is that a device or an app? I'm probably guessing that your device's hardware supports the ad-hoc feature that my Droid doesn't. ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2011
  7. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    The NC can't see Adhoc wifi by default, so if you dinc is generating an infrastructure wifi hotspot, you should be fine.
     
  8. chmoto

    chmoto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Rooted Nook Color, Rooted Droid Incredible
    "Dinc" is my Droid Incredible. I use the wireless tether app that's free in the market.
     
  9. hoskinskevin

    hoskinskevin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Kansas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    The Droid 1 isn't capable of producing an infrastructure network, only Ad-Hoc. So that's why your NC can't connect to your D1 without root. It irritated me when I first busted mine out too.
     

Share This Page