Connect flytouch 2 with rooted Droid 1

Discussion in 'Gome Flytouch II' started by Petro1, Dec 28, 2010.

  1. Petro1

    Petro1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Hello, i have a flytouch 2 / superpad / wowpad / hypepad. Im trying to connect my fl2 wifi to my rooted droid 1 . The droid is rooted and using barnacle. My ipod can find the the droid wifi hotspot and connect but the fl2 cant find it. Is there an app i need to install on the ft2 or do i need to reconfigure the fl2? Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. Richardo Crispus

    Richardo Crispus Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Tablet / Device:
    Gome Flytouch II Aka Wowpad
    Android doesn't support Ad-Hoc (device to device) wifi... I don't think there's an easy fix yet

    Sorry,
    Richardo
     
  3. Petro1

    Petro1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    model deb
    firmware 2.1-update1
    kernal 2.6.32.9
    hzhao@emma#1
    build deb-r2.1.1170
    10 inch 1ghz, 256, gps,camera,3g. up to 64 gb flash
     
  4. anvo

    anvo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
  5. cruxader

    cruxader Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    NULL
    I tried the wpa_supplicant hack but ended killing my wifi.....
    Not sure whether I screwed up or just bad timing & my wifi hardware decided to quit at the wrong moment...
    Don't let my experience discourage the rest....
     
  6. urphonesux

    urphonesux Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Hi Cruxader had to join when i saw this.

    To restore your wifi just restart the tablet. Once you change the conf file you have to reset the device the for it to use the new file's settings instead of searching for the old file and giving up.
    Alternatively, you can just delete the .conf file altogether and the tablet will automatically generate a new one on boot

    This works on my hype-pad but i still havent found a way to use the internet connection from wmwifirouter on my Omnia 2 to surf the internet on my tablet
     
  7. Petro1

    Petro1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    ok. im really lost and really new to this pad. Not sure where to start. any step by step?
     
  8. urphonesux

    urphonesux Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    turns out i told you wrong cruxader....hope you havent destroyed your tablet by now.

    put this file in your data/misc/wifi folder and reboot the device

    remove the .txt extension and get rid of/overwrite the previous file if it is still in your device

    had to crash mine to make sure
     

    Attached Files:

  9. cruxader

    cruxader Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    NULL
    Just before I did open my tablet, I came across another post about ad hoc wireless.
    On a hunch, I replaced conf file in data/misc/wifi that I had deleted because I was informed that it would regenerate itself.
    THAT gave me back my wifi!

    So, I am back to square 1 where my wifi works but still no ad hoc wifi....

     

Share This Page