FreeScale 8" MID tablet mx515 FR-809

matthewle

Apr 8, 2011
few questions:

1) How can i upgrade my storage from 4gb to 32GB where can i buy this type of NAND storage and how to i open it to swap it. also how would i transfer everything from old storage to new.

2) Can Ubuntu Linux run on these devices with touch and all the features possible for a tablet.

3) How do i backup and flash my storage.

Yeah i been searching the forums and google for a week now and i just figured out how to replace the keyboard i deleted.. no keyboard for a week lol

so im really a n00b when it comes to tablets im a skilled network engineer and can take tech terms ! please help!

lentm

Mar 5, 2011
you dont buy nand storage, but microsd card. on the lastest firmware, your internal storage will be 'disk', and your microsd will be 'sdcard'.
to flash your firmware, just check the firmware thread (XAUMOD). it is on the first page, and you didn't look at it.

alcassetta

Dec 27, 2010
That means you can use a Sd card in you slot from 4gb to 32gb to extend your external memory, you can't change your internal ,sorry but you are confused!

Nov 28, 2010
You kind of can actually. On the inside of these tablets is a 4gb Micro SD Card which you can swap out for 32gb. The Android OS itself is on the NAND which is...300mb or so? I don't remember the number at the moment.

Oh and opening it is quite easy, too. Just start at the corner with any kind of small straight screwdriver. Pop up one corner and move along until the case is open. You also might want to watch out for the cable connected to the touchscreen while opening it. Once you pop the touchscreen off, you need to unscrew 4 (or even 2-3 to make it easier) small phillips head screws holding the internal screen in place. Once you take that out, you'll see where the Micro SD card is located. Just replace this with your 32gb card and you're done!

Last edited:

toplinus

Apr 16, 2011