Full system backups..can you do it???

Discussion in 'Rockchip RK2808 Tablets' started by eckles, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. eckles

    eckles Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Apad v1.7.4
    Hi, I've just bought myself a nice little 7" Apad. Is there any way I can back the whole thing up in case I need to reinstall the system? I'm a born fiddler :-D I expect the odd disaster! I'd appreciate any advice.
     
  2. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    It depends on which 'Apad' you have, but the easiest way is to get a copy of the original factory firmware before proceeding.

    Chances are that the firmware pack is out there already.

    What's your chipset?

    You can make 'dumps' of the contents of system and data partitions to be restored depending on your product.
     
  3. xpilot

    xpilot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Tablet / Device:
    Apad IRobot RK2808a
    Hey-hey, I have similar question - "how to" make backup (or dump) for my Apad (irobot, chipset ROCKCHIP 2808)? Thanks
     
  4. eckles

    eckles Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Apad v1.7.4
    Mines the same..rockchip 2808. 256mb via5332 mhz! 1.7.4 firmware. I have yet another question...how do you tell what the specs of your 'toy' are?? I'd like to make sure that its what I've paid for. Not as if we've got the same options as a computer is it!!
     
  5. kannetkeifer

    kannetkeifer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    mine is 7" chipset is wm8505 deadly sure i will show you strip down the one comes with iphone plug at side and top left cornet is power vol down vol up processor speed is around 500 256ram internal memory 2gb only seen as two flash drive when connected to computer please help me retrieve original firmware and drivers from it because my friend still have the untouched one for me i cant wait to find out the truth wifi is really not working from the day one so i cant stand :)
     
  6. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    The best way is to find the original manufacturer software and flash it. Some models, particularly the Apad, have read-only filesystems and can only be written by a firmware flash tool.

    If you have a WM8505 variant, you need to identify what you have before flashing.

    Unless you did something to system files (which you probably did not), wifi issues are always hardware dependent, and it is safe to assume that it is a hardware issue.
     

Share This Page