Gps solution found

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by robitron929, May 3, 2011.

  1. robitron929

    robitron929 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    santa maria cali
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia tab a500
    For best results use both methods together. After using both on my ICONIA average GPS lock time under 60 seconds


    Method 1.
    NOT ROOTED
    To clear GPS cache THIS ALWAYS HELPS<<<<<<<!!!!!!!!!

    Instructions:

    1. Download and install GPS Status & Toolbox from android market

    2. Open the GPS Status & Toolbox

    3. Press Menu -> Tools

    4. Tap on Manage A-GPS state

    5. Tap Reset

    6. Tap Download

    7. Enjoy faster GPS locking

    Method 2.
    ROOTED***
    BUSYBOX REQUIRED

    Required:
    Root access
    Fasterfix app from market
    read all of this post so you don't screw yourself.

    Instructions:

    To speed up google maps nav: Install "Fasterfix" app from market, open app, accept super user permissions, pick region (!!!never change this) then test via google maps navigation. Should speed it up $hit load, just as fast as my incredible when it was new. Hope this helps
    Honestly until android comes up with a fix for the maps app I'm going to use WASE GPS found in market you MIGHT get a search for SIGNAL, BUT MUCH FASTER GPS.


    FYI!!!!!!!! DONT REPICK REGION IN FASTERFIX APPLICATION!!!!! or you will have to do this:

    It appears I was having some issues cingularly in the davlik cache because I changed my region in fasterfix because I figured what the fnck, and that screwed up my speed so when you pick your region stick with it or you will slow the crap out of navigation plus to fix it you will have unistall fasterfix, delete" data@app-private@com.Double.FasterFix-1.apk@classes.dex[/email]" under davik-cache, reinstall pick region, test via navigation.

    Info:

    Sorry about last post: you will only need to open Fasterfix app once.
    Misc:
    It appears that fastfix is server based location finder, what ever that means
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2011
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Raven312

    Raven312 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Fasterfix is the bomb! Thanks for that!!
     
  3. robitron929

    robitron929 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    santa maria cali
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia tab a500
    No problem man
     
  4. ithink2020

    ithink2020 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Omaha, Ne, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Droid 2
    Any that was not even seeing Sats or getting a Fix, have you tried this and does it help?
     
  5. robitron929

    robitron929 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    santa maria cali
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia tab a500
    resume app on portrait mod and pic region, usa, asia ect. sorry forgot in first test, should be faster
     
  6. robitron929

    robitron929 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    santa maria cali
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia tab a500
    yes it helps, give it 1min in navigation, remember portait mode
     
  7. robitron929

    robitron929 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    santa maria cali
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia tab a500
    I will try to find a more solid solution in the future
     
  8. Raven312

    Raven312 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    You're doing fine. We're all learning together and it doesn't all come together at once.
     
  9. robitron929

    robitron929 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    santa maria cali
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia tab a500
    Yeah just need to keep the word out so that other devs may consider fixing this although the good possibility is were looking at a hardware issues, hopefully a kernel could push the GPS ferther
     
  10. robitron929

    robitron929 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    santa maria cali
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia tab a500
    Updated, added clear GPS cache info and regional FYI
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
acer tablet gps clear cache
,

android clear gps cache

,
androidnclear gps cache
,

clear android gps cache

,
clear gps cache android
,
clear tablet gps cache
,

how to clear gps cache android