It keeps on saying nook col, nook col, nook col

Discussion in 'Nook Color Technical' started by kashif977, May 22, 2011.

  1. kashif977
    Offline

    kashif977 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color (Rooted)
    Hello everyone,

    I have come back yet with another question that you all may already know the answer of.

    I upgraded my nook to 1.2 and then rooted it with manual nooter. Everyone was really great and worked so cool. I backed it up and rebooted.

    And now it just keeps on saying Nook Col, nook col, nook col, nook col.

    I tried to reboot it a couple of time but it just never goes beyond nook col.

    Can anyone please tell me what is wrong with it. What have I missed or done wrong. Thanks in advance
  2. claxdog
    Offline

    claxdog Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    NULL
    Think you need to do restore and try again.
  3. Shimmy
    Offline

    Shimmy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I had this for awhile and noticed it was only after I updated to flash 10.3 in the market. Don't allow flash to update and you should be OK.
  4. kabbie1882
    Offline

    kabbie1882 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    St Paul, MN
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Vibrant, MyTouch, G1

    I may be misunderstanding but his problem is he CAN NOT BOOT. His screen just sticks on the "NOOK COLOR" screen.
  5. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Yes, just try a restore from the backup you made. Hold power and n together for 8 seconds to boot into internal CWR (if you installed internal) or insert your bootable CWR SD card (in either case the sd card with your backup should be inserted before bootup). Once in CWR, wipe your cache partition and dalvik cache then restore from your working backup.
  6. Shimmy
    Offline

    Shimmy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    No misunderstanding. He needs to do a restore or go back to stock and re-root. Then...don't allow flash to update in the market. When and if it's rebooted after it's updated to flash 10.3, it will be stuck in a boot loop. At least that's what happened to me. I've had no problems since I figured that out.
  7. claxdog
    Offline

    claxdog Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    NULL
    I updated my flash and have had no issues what rom are you guys using.
  8. kashif977
    Offline

    kashif977 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color (Rooted)
    Thanks guys, I restored back to stock and then did eMMC CM7 with OC 12Ghz. So far its running flawlessly.
  9. ShutterPeep
    Offline

    ShutterPeep Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color Gen. 1
    Of course I know what you mean. but if I had my NC running at 12Ghz, it would be flying. :p
  10. ShutterPeep
    Offline

    ShutterPeep Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color Gen. 1
    I was able to recreate this but I haven't tried fixing by stopping flash install after first boot. I will test later when I get home as I'm on my way out.

    used MN 4.5.18 to root by the way.

    edit: I restored to my nand backup pre-root. Then rooted with MN 4.5.25 (just out) instead. It didn't download gapps and flash after logging on so I guess they were built into MN. I rebooted a couple of times and so far don't have any issues with the boot-loop.
    Last edited: May 26, 2011
  11. kashif977
    Offline

    kashif977 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color (Rooted)
    Sorry I ment 1.2Ghz. It was the excitement of having my nook work like that in first try that I missed the (.)
    Coming this far with my nook rooting without any perior experience of android is a gaint step for me and it means I have learned all of this with the help of all great people here.

    Now I can do Manual Nooter, Back up and restore, CM7 though SD card, and CM7 on eMMC. I can also install APKs, OC Kernels. ADB wireless. Thank you all.
  12. jtrosky
    Offline

    jtrosky Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Nicely said - couldn't agree more. With this site I had my nook color running honeycomb the very first day... now enjoying cm7 on emcc.... great stuff.

    Sent from my NookColor using Android Tablet Forum

Share This Page