I've discovered a major bug can someone test there tablet for me.

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by suade907, May 1, 2011.

  1. suade907

    suade907 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    OK so I have a 32gig memory chip. I have been saving my photos and videos to it by using the slider in the camera options. I have found that every time I power down the unit completely it wipes out or corrupts the images in my dcim camera folder on the sdcard. Anyone else having this issue. How disapointing this has become.
     
  2. chemsolder

    chemsolder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    dallas tx
    Tablet / Device:
    htc inspire, viewsonic gtablet tnt lite 4.3
    From what I have read this is not just an issue with your tab it is a known flaw. Personally have yet to experience this but preemptively I placed an empty file .nomedia in the root of my SD card. It is mentioned in many of the gtab forums. Just create it using note pad and don't put a file extension on it. Hope it helps this advice is garnered by reading more than experience as I am a total noob

    Sent from my Desire HD using Android Tablet Forum
     
  3. chemsolder

    chemsolder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    dallas tx
    Tablet / Device:
    htc inspire, viewsonic gtablet tnt lite 4.3
    .nomedia

    Sent from my Desire HD using Android Tablet Forum
     
  4. suade907

    suade907 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I'll give it a try but still fear I may lose any future pics and video. I did create a movies folder on my card and have 2 movies I've created in there and have had no issues with them just the camera pics and video.
     
  5. spexwood

    spexwood Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab & Sony Ericsson Xperia X10a
    I recently had my memory get corrupted. Im not sure if it was the cause, but I did change the camera settings to have it save photos to the memory card a day or so before realizing that my card was corrupted.
    I tried what you said, but I want to be sure I did it right.

    I used notepad to create an empty file called. nomedia and then save it to the memory card (what would then become mnt/external_sd on the tablet). That's it?
    What does this do exactly?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page