MicroSD will NOT mount!!

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by cvsangel, Nov 4, 2011.

  1. cvsangel
    Offline

    cvsangel Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Forgive me if the answer is obvious or if this is posted in the wrong place ....

    My Acer A500 is new. i bought a 16GB card and it will not mount. ive formated it using singleFAT and nothing. this has been done several times. i cant use markets "mount all" apps because those required root access which i dont have since i cant root without an SD card present . Ive done the "noob" troubleshoot i.e. reboot, poke the reset button, turn off and on with the card in and so on ... nothing. Ive cleaned the card and air dusted the sd card holder for any possible obstructions too. AND.... ive used a secondary MicroSD card to ensure the 16GB wasnt faulty and same result ... nothing . The acer does recognize the card under settings>storage>externalSDCard however theres no icon present and no mount/unmount option nor does it show when using ES File Explorer ... so the acer picking it up eliminates the socket not working

    WTF am i missing??!! genuine answers please im not a tech idiot who post about changing my wallpaper issues. i know what im doing i just needhelp on this one. thanks.
  2. Douvie
    Offline

    Douvie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    what version of Honeycombe have you got on your A500?
  3. cvsangel
    Offline

    cvsangel Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    3.1

    would updating it to that 3.2 fix it? i doubt it, but has there been cases where it has worked?
  4. Douvie
    Offline

    Douvie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Yes. Also improves mounting/unmounting USB sticks.
    Why hasn't your tablet updated? You should have had an OTA (over-the-air) update to version 3.2.

    Hve you rooted your tsblet?
  5. cvsangel
    Offline

    cvsangel Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Wow I'm going to feel very silly if that really does solve the problem.

    Like I said, it's new out of the box and just haven't bothered updating it although I'm beginning the 3.2 download as we speak.

    It just didn't make sense that an update would solve it because in a way wouldn't that entale that SD cards prior to this update didn't work and would therefore defeat the purpose of a MicroSD card for ext storage??

    Idk maybe I'm over thinking it.

    I'll post results of update ASAP.

    And no, it's not rooted yet. I plan to use gingerbreak once I get my SD card running
  6. Douvie
    Offline

    Douvie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Icebike had mentioned something about this in one of the other threads concerning tne SD CARD. With version 3.01 some worked some didn't. The USB mount/unmount feature did not exist and some of us downloaded a mount/umount utility to use at that time. There was some improvement in 3.1 and some issues with the SD card slot. With 3.2 it seems to work fine.

    One other thing, if you're plugging your tab into a PC you download and install the driver for the PC otherwise Windows will not know what to do with the A500.
    :D
  7. Douvie
    Offline

    Douvie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Why install a lesser system like GINGERBREAD that is a phone OS? Not designed for the 10.1 inch tablet!
  8. kmarchi
    Offline

    kmarchi Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    WM something
    Wait. SingleFAT? Try FAT 32.
  9. kmarchi
    Offline

    kmarchi Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    WM something
    And ixnay on the Gingerbread. Trust me. The whole useage experience is so overwhelmingly better with 3.2 that even a gingeraddict like me has moved on. Even with no root.
  10. Douvie
    Offline

    Douvie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    I also haven't rooted my A500. I don't see the need nor am I prepared to put up with the hassle and instability. No system is totally locked and I can get past it if I really want to - without having to root.
  11. cvsangel
    Offline

    cvsangel Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    ok update----

    i got the problem fixed thanks to you all. this is what i did:

    updated to v3.2..
    formatted SD to FAT32 with all default settings
    replaced ES File Manager with ASTRO FILE MANAGER
    power cycled with SD in and BINGO

    THANKS A BUNCH FOR ALL THE INOUT.

    I ALSO DONT REALLY SEE THE NEED TO ROOT NOW EXCEPT FOR MAYBE TO REMOVE ALL ANNOYING PREINSTALLED SOFTWARE AND MOVE APPS FROM INTERNAL SD TO EXTERNAL SD
  12. Douvie
    Offline

    Douvie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    I'm wrapped! Your problem is solved!
  13. johnhoward
    Offline

    johnhoward Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What does "mount" and "unmount" do please?
  14. jseah
    Offline

    jseah Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    When you plug in a SD card, the operating system has to "mount" it before it can read from it or pick it up as a drive, similar to what happens with Windows when you plug in an external hard drive to your computer's USB port. Windows has to "mount" the drive and run the appropriate USB driver before you will be able to access the files on that external hard drive. "Unmounting" the SD card essentially disconnects the SD card from the OS so you can remove it. With Honeycomb tablets, the SD card is hot-swappable (you can plug it in or remove it while the tablet is on) so the SD card should "mount" and "unmount" automatically. With OS'es that support running apps off of the SD card, unplugging the SD card without "unmounting" it (this can be done from the settings) can be bad since you may be running an app off of that card and without the card, this will cause the app to crash.
    • Like Like x 2
  15. johnhoward
    Offline

    johnhoward Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks jseah:):)
  16. jpinsl
    Offline

    jpinsl Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Analogous to "turn on"/"turn off" or "use"/"don't use" or "active"/"inactive"
    Just another obscure and obtuse compterese term.
  17. ArmyofMike
    Offline

    ArmyofMike Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cencal
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Hey all, I've been lurking for a while since I got my A500, but I'm having this exact problem on mine: I have formated my Sandisk 4gb 4c rated SD card and it still is not "mount"able on my settings. I have formatted it to FAT32 on the default settings (Didn't work to mount), used EASEUS Partition Manager to change it to single partition (Didn't work to mount), I've tried two other SD Cards, both Sandisk, 16gb 2c and 8gb 2c (Didn't work to mount). I've tried to install the SD Card (have attempted with all three cards) with the Tablet's power on/off (Didn't work to mount). I've tried just about everything that I can and done more searches on the the forums than I wish to claim (A LOT:confused:) and I can't find a solution for my Acer Iconia A500.

    Specs on my A500
    16GB
    Is a refurbish to "specs"
    everything else appears to be working fine.

    Any help/suggestions/support would be greatly appreciated. I love the tablet and suppose not having an external SD isn't a deal breaker, but it's such an inconvenience and blemish on the Acer Tab and the Android OS....Unless it's something else <----In that case, I will insert foot+mouth=ArmyofMike.

    Thanks!
  18. BDiddy
    Offline

    BDiddy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 32GB
    Forgive me if this is obvious and has already been tried, but make sure that the microSD card clicks into place in the slot. It should then be securely in place, and then there will be a notification at the bottom bar that an SD card has been inserted. You should not be able to pull it out without pressing it in again and hearing another click.
  19. ArmyofMike
    Offline

    ArmyofMike Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cencal
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Thanks for the response Bdiddy. I make sure each time I load the sd card it does click into place, and it ejects correctly when I push it down again to remove.

    any other ideas?
  20. BDiddy
    Offline

    BDiddy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 32GB
    Does your tablet even realize an SD card has been inserted? Does anything register on the notification bar, or under the Settings->Storage menu? If it doesn't even register, I would suspect that there is a hardware problem with your SD card slot.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
a500 mount sd
,

acer tablet how to mount sd card

,

cant get micro sd card to mount

,

cant mount sd card samsung galaxy

,

galaxy tab 3 failed sdcard mount

,
how to mount an sd card for galaxy tab 4
,

how to mount micro sd android

,

how to partition 8gb micro sd card to mount intablet

,

micro sd card not mounting on phone

,

micro sd card wont mount

,
micro sd card wont mount acer a210
,

mount sd card android tablet

,
mount sdcard android tablet so it shows up in windows
,

not able to mount micro sd card recover

,
rooted phone sd card wont mount
,

samsung galaxy pro tablet will not mount so card

,

samsung s4 sd card wont mount

,

sd card in samsung tablet not mounting

,

tablet says to insert sd card when camera app is open

,

why mount and un-mount sd card in samsung tab 4