Nook tablet or Nook color refurbished at 149$ ??

movies99

Nov 10, 2011
hello everyone !!

I'm new to tablets.. I don't want to buy the expensive ipad 2.. my main use with the tablet will be reading/movies/browsing.. wifi will do.. I need a very good quality screen.. I liked nook tablet.. but there's nook color refurbished at 149 $ which I'll root.. the tablet has 16 gb memory and 1 gb ram at 249$
so is the upgrade worth 100 $ for my requirements ?

awaiting reply..
thank you..

J515OP

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2011
If budget is the main concern save the $100. For what you want to use it for the refurbished Nook Color is a great deal. It will surf the web, paly movies and games just fine. Reading is not a strain on the device at all. Yes the new one will be faster and has more storage but memory cards are cheap and possibly free if you pay attention to Black Friday deals.

You can get a couple of years use out of the current Nook Color and then possibly upgrade to whatever goodness the future holds. Make no mistake the tablet price wars have just started. Remember the competition in PCs then laptops then netbooks? Tablets are next. You can expect many dual core tablets with great performance in the future and by then you may want to do more than reading/movies/browsing and be able to get a more powerful tablet for that same $249.

Last edited:

BoloMKXXVIII

Jul 27, 2010
The answer isn't so simple. A lot depends on what you really can afford. I have a NC and love it but for $100 more you get more memory, much faster processor and a microphone. Personally I would pay the $100 for the upgrade. Yes you pay more but you get a machine that will have a longer useful life. If you really can't afford the $250 price or plan on upgrading to another tablet in a year or so go with the NC. If you have the extra money to spend and plan on using the tablet for at least a couple of years go with the NT.