Nook TV via DISH Network

Discussion in 'Nook Color Apps and Games' started by Ifireclay, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. Ifireclay
    Offline

    Ifireclay Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle
    Tablet / Device:
    Rooted Nook Color
    In case you missed it, forum member Crenita can watch DISH network DVRd material courtesy of the DISH Remote Access App (free in the market), and a DISH 722 DVR with Sling Adapter ($99 from DISH for DISH only) connected to broadband.

    I ordered my DISH 722 wifi adapter ($25 from DISH) since my router is in a diferent location from my DVR. When I get it, I'll test the DISH Remote Access app to make sure my ADSL signal is strong enough (supposedly you need 3Mbs for HD content), and if that's a winner, I'll order my Sling Adapter and follow Crenita's lead.

    I'll update as soon as I get my equipment up and going - hopefully with good news! :cool:
  2. Zman
    Offline

    Zman Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NULL
    I would like to do that with my huawei ideos s7.

    Sent from my cold ass s7 android tablet
  3. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Or maybe you won't because you'll be too busy watching tv :)
  4. rico2001
    Offline

    rico2001 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Too bad I only have cable.
  5. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    Not just DVR but apparently live TV as well. I think it's time I join the club! ;)

    Since you mentioned ADSL, I assume you mean 3Mpbs (up) to a remote location outside the LAN. I think I'm capped at 1Mbps up which probably means no HD streaming for me. :(

    -Matt
  6. Ifireclay
    Offline

    Ifireclay Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle
    Tablet / Device:
    Rooted Nook Color
    I'm not sure what the upload requirement is - neither was the DISH guy I talked to (shocker!). If anyone is doing this via ADSL/wifi, please chime in. I'll probably bite the bullet and get the Sling Adapter, so if it doesn't work out, I may be selling it cheap. First come, first serve.
  7. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    Consider me "first"! :)

    -Matt
  8. darmeen
    Offline

    darmeen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    From Dish Network

    They also have a connectivity test on the link I provided at the top
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2011
  9. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    Fortunately in my case the Dish receiver has a wired connection to the router, so the 3Mbps LAN prereq isn't really an issue. I know that the adapter modulates bitrate as a function of bandwidth, so 600Kbps up is probably a minimum for "watchable." Of course a stream from the Dish that heads toward an Android device is all but certainly being downscaled, not only because of bandwidth but also (probably) because of assumptions built into the Android app (e.g., screen resolution). However, I think there is a "tablet-optimized" version of the app now...?

    Here is another way of looking at it: I really can't use my Droid or Nook to watch video via Tversity or Orb while on 3G...for me anyway, it falls just below the "watchable" threshold. And that's with 1Mbps upstream and adaptive transcoding on the server PC. I'm really curious how the Sling adapter will perform.

    -Matt
  10. crenita
    Offline

    crenita Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Matt I think you will be truely surprised at how well it all works.. I ended up getting sling adapter as my wired line is 5 rooms away from my Dish 722.... the first go was a bite shakey but about 2 weeks ago they updated the app and viola... like magic.. it works so well... .. I had a long wait in traffiic the other day.. so just popped the dish app up on my Droid and spent the nx 25 minutes watching TV while waiting in line... keeps the Blood pressure down in those situations.. but I really am pleased as I can go to the a park enjoy the pleasant outdoors but still be able to catch what I want when I want it if I get bored watching the kids soccer games... .. repeat I love my Sling...
  11. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    You know, I get so happy every time you describe it. I think my last comment was really a veiled attempt to get you to "tell us the story again, please?!?!?!" LOL

    -Matt
  12. techieblgrl
    Offline

    techieblgrl Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    Tablet / Device:
    722k
    Ifireclay & gadgetrants, you are both correct. I work for DISH Network so I know all about the Sling Adapter and TV Everywhere. With the DISH Remote Access app you can not only view live TV and your DVR recordings but you also have access to thousands of TV shows and movies through DISHOnline.com! I'm glad to hear you all are enjoying DISH on the go. If you have any questions feel free to ask. Also, here is a helpful video for more information:www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qsDhbSz3pg.
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2011
  13. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    We have a Dish INSIDER!!!!! Awesome.

    My first question--sorry, it's 100% self-interested: my 2-year contract is up, and I'm hoping to renew. Any advice? In particular, we have a 722, which I'm happy to keep rather than upgrade. The ideal customer service phone call for me is one in which I get a decent offer (I think they call people like us "promo-hoppers") on a new 2-year, plus a discount on Sling adapter--assuming I don't pick up a slightly used one soon. (Yes, everyone, I realize how greedy that sounds...but no worries, I suck at negotiating.)

    -Matt
  14. crenita
    Offline

    crenita Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    well Matt you never get anything if you don't ask and believe me they NEVER tell you ..... go for it !!
  15. riffraff
    Offline

    riffraff Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Quantrill's country
    Tablet / Device:
    Rooted NOOKcolor

    D'oh!

    "Only Windows and Mac Operating Systems are supported. Please run the Connectivity Test tool on a supported OS."

    How lame is that? :p
  16. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    I didn't want to say this, what with a friendly new forum member and someone from Dish to boot, BUT my calls typically go something like this:

    Agent: Hi, how can I help you?
    Me: Hi, my contract is about to expire. Do I qualify for a new promotion?
    Agent: I'm sorry sir, I can only offer the promotion to new subscribers.
    Me: OK, I understand. I'd like to close my account then.
    Agent: Thank you sir, I understand. Please hold while I transfer you to an account specialist.
    Me: Sure.

    Pause:

    New Agent: Hello, sir. I understand you've asked to close your account. May I ask if there are any problems or concerns you have?
    Me: Yes, trying to save money. I just received an offer from the local cable company, so I'll give that a try.
    New Agent: I understand sir. Is there anything I can offer you to convince to stay with us?
    Me: Can you extend my current contract for another 2 years?
    New Agent: Just one moment please.

    Pause, comes back.

    New Agent: I see that you've been a customer for 6 years now... Explains customer loyalty "promotion"...blah, blah...

    What a huge pain! My first time through this process, I actually closed my account, and then a few weeks later got a new offer: "WE WANT YOU BACK!" I'd prefer to avoid all the silliness.

    -Matt
  17. darmeen
    Offline

    darmeen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Yeah, well it doesn't recognize Google Chrome either...so I had to find Firefox and run it from there...
  18. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    ...and apparently turn off Adblock, to boot!!!... :p

    -Matt
  19. darmeen
    Offline

    darmeen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    The funniest part is that the last I checked, my 722ViP doesn't have adblock, Avast!...or Firefox!

    I do need to run that test for network speed at the house though...of course it works here at the office!
  20. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    I thought this was informative:

    http://dishconnectivity.sling.com/connectionTest/systemRequirements

    I'm obviously not going to see HD outside my house, which is OK. Since my upstream is 1Mbps (actually, that's what speedtest.net says, I'm not sure that's true throughput) I suppose I'll see VGA or "Mobile" while on the road. Which is OK too, I'm used to watching movies on 2" screens. ;) The Nook is a welcome step up for me!

    $1121861190.png

    -Matt

Share This Page