[ROM] Generic Rockchip 7" Android 1.5 Tablet RK2808a Firmware Guide

Discussion in 'Rockchip RK2808 Tablets' started by xaueious, Aug 15, 2010.

  1. xaueious
    Offline

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,486
    Likes Received:
    433
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    Full specs and more pictures here

    Before attempting to flash any firmware onto your device, please verify that you have a matching device.
    There has been at least 5 mainboard revisions for this device. Externally, they look identical.


    Firmware flashing guide post 2

    Should look similar to this, and has a Rockchip processor. It will also be running Android 1.5:
    [​IMG]

    Utopia models
    Downloadable firmwares
    Official release firmwares are available here:
    Downloads - apad-irobot - Project Hosting on Google Code
    Unlabeledreleases are for batch 2.

    Hybrid firmwares by Rogerbraun for batch 2: SlateDroid - The BIGGEST Android Tablet Forum on the Web!

    Hybrid firmware by me for batch 2: HybridKangXau
    Discuss here: http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...-firmware-batch-2-rockchip-7-apad-irobot.html

    Other models:
    Batch 2/3 intermediate Sample Batches) 5V Input Voltage, Blue Power Indicator Light, Front-Facing Camera, Plastic Casing, iWeb box

    Downloadable firmwares
    0630, firmware supplied by HiApad: BlueLED_RK2808a_SampleBatch_0630CN.zip - apad-irobot - Blue LED RK2808A Sample Batch Compatible Firmware 0630CN, NOT FOR BATCH 3 - Project Hosting on Google Code

    TabletStoreUK Hybrid firmwares types 1 and 2 (might work for others): Support - The Tablet Store

    Batch 3 from Moonse) 9V Input Voltage, Red Power Indicator Light, Front-Facing Camera, Metallic Casing Only

    I have seen multiple reports of this revision bricking upon flashing firmware. It is best NOT to flash anything if you have this revision.

    Anyways this is a mess. Apparently on some devices, shipping firmware is 0612, meaning that you can use batch 3 firmware.

    Downloadable firmwares
    0802, firmware kindly supplied by HiApad: Multiupload
  2. xaueious
    Offline

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,486
    Likes Received:
    433
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    How to for batch 1&2:
    Apad iRobot Firmware Update Tool (update.img) » HiApad

    Use the tool mentioned above with the downloaded .img file to flash.

    Here's a video of how it is done, using another tool. The method is similar.
    [​IMG]

    For 9v models, the firmware flash mode is different
    from Asure on Slatedroid

    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2014
  3. stef
    Offline

    stef Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    philippines
    Tablet / Device:
    epad MID701
    im using mid 701 android pad...with 9v input Voltage, Red Power Indicator Light, Front-Facing Camera..my android is v1.7.4 can you please help me re flash my unit?because my unit has no apps market installed and even i change the language onmy unit everytime i use it its still in chines language...please help me with this matter..tahnx!
  4. jamiros
    Offline

    jamiros Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    México
    Tablet / Device:
    M1 SmartPad
    Hello xaueious,

    I'm not asking for help just information. I just bought a Chinaleap M1 Smartpad with RK2808 firmware 1.5, rockchip version 1.2.7, kernel 2.6.25... I have been looking for a way to update the firmware to 2.2 or 2.1 but I don't know if that's a good idea... Do you suggest I should do the update?

    Thanks in Advance!
  5. galgo13
    Offline

    galgo13 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Tablet / Device:
    ASK 711 SP
    Hi Guys, I have a ASK 711 SP also know as "Ask Internet Smart Pad" ( details here:ASK COMPUTER TECHNOLOGY CO. --MP3¡¢MP4¡¢MP5¡¢Mobile Phone¡¢Digital Photo Frame¡¢SD card¡¢USB Flash Disk¡¢Others ) its a Rockchip based tablet. (similar to the so called "smartPad" )

    2 questions,

    1) is it possible to remove all the Chinese bloatware/apps that comes with it, do I need to unroot uninstall the apps I don't want then re root, if so how do I do it with this model?

    2) I am stuck on android firmware (cupcake) 1.5, which is basically obsolete now as most of the new apps and games wont run on this outdated OS. Is there anyway to update this model to at least 1.6 or better still 2.2?

    Many thanks in advance (noobie tablet-er)
  6. Phillip_J_Fry
    Offline

    Phillip_J_Fry Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colombia
    Tablet / Device:
    Apad Moonse E7001
    Hi Guys i have read all this post and others about how to fix and Apad even a Mp4 or Mp5 device... First of all thanks all for your support patient and time. Thanks a lot.


    The procedures that you mentions doesnt work to me .. ( Basically My Apad Isn’t recognize for my pc , even using the procedure of the second entry of xaueious) .. I have try this. .even the short circuit into the flash device but my apad doesn’t respond.


    This is my situation, i bought a Moonse Apad E7001 with red led and plastic wrap, i used this device very well for 4 moths , I just have little problems like an usb port #1 doesn’t work , when i plugged the hedphones the apad turn off , the apad also turned off if I pressed a little with my hand in the power button area, Well wasn’t perfect but still the apad worked


    i let it used for a week sort of .. and the moment when i decided turn on , my apad just got black and won't boot. In the pass i fixed this pushing very hard the power button,. but this method stop working anymore, desperate I just started pushing the power button too hard that i break it. . so i decided to open to fix the power button that I suspect was the problem


    After take time to search on internet ,… well I released very late (after open the device and remove the power button ), that wasn’t the power button problem or a hardware problem instead a software fail or firmware fail so like I said before I’ll tried the xaueious steps ( but just pressing the menu button, like the youtube video says ) , tried the short cort circuit,.. Nothing


    I’am actually trying a battery drain ( i have read this in another forum ) but the apad battery don’t uncharge, I guess cause I have a month trying this (let It keeping the power button on ), when a put a wire in the power button the apad turn’s black or make a tiny flash


    I posted a pictures of my apad device, please take a look.


    ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting apad opened with a little description

    ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting apad opened power button zone

    TinyURL.com - shorten that long URL into a tiny URL apad opened back screen

    ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting apad opened screen and body


    Thanks you all for your support or suggestion.
  7. xaueious
    Offline

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,486
    Likes Received:
    433
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    I don't really how how to fix these things, but the reliability of these unbraded RK2808 tablets was terrible. I think the failure rate is over 50% by now.
  8. Wildchild
    Offline

    Wildchild Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    after flashing "Wi-Fi Mac Address is unavailable how do i solve this? my older version is Yuixing and after flashing it was Ruixing
    anyone here have the Yuixing FW
  9. kitkat143
    Offline

    kitkat143 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    Tablet / Device:
    Epad 9V 1.2
    Dear Admin,

    I have an Epad 9v- 1.2 version. I want to upgrade it to the highest version that the market now has, can it be possible? I cannot play the videos correctly, It gets stuck at some point of time. I think the RAM cannot hold a lot of memory.

    If so, please e-mail me back at to_cath@yahoo.com. PLease send me the right files as well. I have a hard time finding the right link. There are so many and maybe I will be wrong.

    Waiting for your response.
  10. dvstdor
    Offline

    dvstdor Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    brazil
    Tablet / Device:
    irobot rk2808a


    my irobot brikou, no longer recognizes the pc (usb) how can I do recognize it again? mine is a tablet irobot rk 2808A. silver (plastic) two usb, red light, I saw something about making a short on flash.
    if possible show me the correct firmware.
    Sorry my English because I am Brazilian. Thank you.
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2014
  11. dvstdor
    Offline

    dvstdor Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    brazil
    Tablet / Device:
    irobot rk2808a


    I managed to recognize more than one error and does not go, mine is a red LED 9v has a difference in the recovery procedure?
  12. dvstdor
    Offline

    dvstdor Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    brazil
    Tablet / Device:
    irobot rk2808a
    I managed to recognize and to install without error, but then gets caught in the doll ends of Linux, have to unplug the USB cable after it ends to continue? or other procedure? or leave it connected it continues to do the installation
  13. rindebabalola
    Offline

    rindebabalola Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tablet / Device:
    android 2.2 OS 7 inches tablet
    pls i use android 2.2 OS. how do i flash the ROM. and which firmware should i use.

Share This Page