This is making my head spinn.

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Discussions' started by phillsky, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. phillsky

    phillsky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tablet / Device:
    None, waiting for an apad, that could be an epad.
    I am as confused as a baby racoon.

    I ordered a what they sad was an aPad, but reading the specs and looking at one of the pictures of the device on there web makes me wounder. The specs seems to be for a RockChip based one, but the picture looks like an ePad/Flytouch. Another funny thing as that they have a two part spec listing.

    This is the first part of the specs:

    7 inch high brightness TFT screen with display resolution 800 x 480 16:9
    Touch screen with icon or menu drag features and auto rotation.
    Broadband Internet access, 802.11a/b/g Wi-Fi
    Google chrome lite browser.
    Email, Word, Excel, PPT, PDF.
    Support Fring, SkypeOut, QQ, MSN, Gtalk.
    Wallpaper auto change.
    Games.
    Desktop gadget.
    Storage: nand flash 2GB or 4GB
    RAM: 128MB 800Mhz DDR
    SD card slot support capacity up to 32GB, free 2GB SD card.
    Integrated Stereo speaker.
    Integrated microphone.
    Audio in/out put.
    OS: Google Android

    This is the second part of the specs.

    Processor: CPU600MHz + DSP600MHZ
    Processor frequency: 1.2GHz
    Memory: FAST EPC DDR 128MB
    Built-NandFlash: 2G NAND FLASH
    Expansion of storage devices: TF card, Flash Drives
    LCD display: 7 "TFT touch screen, 800 × 480
    Internet support: WIFI wireless Internet access to support
    USB: 2X USB
    Audio: Built-in stereo speakers 0.5W × 2;Built-in
    Battery: 3000mAH, 7.4V Li-ion batteries
    Power adapter: 110 or 240V Input, 9V DC Output, 2A
    Product Size: 190mm × 118.5mm × 14.7mm
    Operating system: Google Android 1.5
    GamesApplications: Download large quantity of applications and games
    Editing tools: QUICKOFFICE

    And this is the picture thats confusing me.

    $tablet_picture.jpg
     
  2. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    Picture is the Epad, VIA WM8505
    Where did you order from? The web is full of wrong specs.
     
  3. phillsky

    phillsky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tablet / Device:
    None, waiting for an apad, that could be an epad.
    Yea, thats what I figured to. This is not the only web store I have stumbled on that has conflicting and or up right misleading information.

    The store I got it from is priskungen.com The web store is a Swedish one, but the company is located in China, as most of them are.
    I e-mailed them about it, and they sad it was a RockChip based aPad that they sold, not the VIA one. Oh well, as I sad in another post earlier, I will get what I get.
     
  4. phillsky

    phillsky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tablet / Device:
    None, waiting for an apad, that could be an epad.
    Well I got the thing, it's an iRobot based on the RockChip. Had fun with it for about two days. Now it won't bot up any more. I wanted to flash a new firmware on it, so I started to install the drivers in Windows for it. Doing that I noticed that the charger cable had come lose, so I plugged it back in again. Windows installed the driver for it, but when I started up the program to flash, it sad that it could not find any "player". Windows doesn't see the device anymore, and the device won't start up what ever I do. The only thing working on the device is the red charger led. :( I have been searching on the net about this problem, and I am not alone with this problem. There's a lot of people with the same problem, and no one seems to have been able to get the sucker to wake up again. Looks like I have to try to return it for a refund, or a new device.
     
  5. tipstir

    tipstir Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    COBY KYROS 7015 | 7015A
    aPad Android WiFi 1495 SEK this is the one you have?
    Press the reset with a paper clip
    While the unit is turn on or has power going to it
    Do this for 30 seconds It should reboot and come back on.
     
  6. phillsky

    phillsky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tablet / Device:
    None, waiting for an apad, that could be an epad.
    Where do I insert the paper clip? The pictures on there web isn't the one they sell. The one I got from them is an iRobot, looks like this.

    $apad-ports-2.jpg

    There is a tiny hole at the far right is the mic. The one at the far left is power, ant the one next to that is the head phone jack.
     
  7. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    There's no where to insert a paperclip on it.

    Red LED 9v models have issues. I am hoping you didn't get that one.

    The only real solution is to try a battery drain...
     
  8. phillsky

    phillsky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tablet / Device:
    None, waiting for an apad, that could be an epad.
    Yup, that's the one i got. Darn, well if I don't get a replacement, then I will have a new shiny coaster.
     
  9. phillsky

    phillsky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tablet / Device:
    None, waiting for an apad, that could be an epad.
    I got some pictures of the device. I would appreciate if some one could help me identify exactly which one it is.


    $DSC_0672_small.JPG

    $DSC_0673_small.JPG

    $DSC_0677_small.JPG

    $DSC_0678_small.JPG

    $DSC_0679_small.JPG
     
  10. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    It's a Rockchip RK2808a Android tablet. Specs are identical to the ones on HiApad

    There's more than one factory making these. I've been advised to stay away from the 9v charger + red LED models.
     
  11. phillsky

    phillsky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tablet / Device:
    None, waiting for an apad, that could be an epad.

    Thanks! I really appreciate your help. :)

    To bad I got the wrong one then. Any pointers as to why to stay away from these?

    Let's hope they will replace it. Replacing it seems to be the only option, they don't refund. So I will be stuck with it.
     
  12. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    I can't figure out a good place to get one at the moment. Maybe MP4Nation, but best check if they have the custom firmware preinstalled.
     
  13. phillsky

    phillsky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tablet / Device:
    None, waiting for an apad, that could be an epad.
  14. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    See the thing is, if they really got Batch 3s they can't do that anymore. The firmware isn't compatible with Batch 3.

    That's why I don't know.
     
  15. phillsky

    phillsky Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tablet / Device:
    None, waiting for an apad, that could be an epad.
    This is a mess. Well I could always ask them which one they have, and if they really ship them loaded with the rogerbraun FW. If they do, then it has to be from batch 2.
     

Share This Page