android certified tablets?

tbone24

Jan 28, 2013
so im looking to buy a tablet for my kid (4 yrs old). i have an iphone 5, my kid already knows how to operate it, and i wanna know what people think of the ipads vs android tablets - was looking at the nexus 7 (cheaper and looks decent). was doing some research on android tablets and i see some tablets are google/android certified and some are not certified - seems like the cheap tablets are not certified. What is the difference? does it really matter?? i do know people that have had older versions of tablets and had to do some modifications to make them work - couldnt download any apps or access the playstore - so they rooted them. im not that technical and dont want to have to do all this. i like apple cuz its simple and ready to use right out the box. the android seems to be more difficult but growing in popularity.

thanks.

leeshor

Dec 27, 2011
Welcome to the forum

There is a rather glaring misunderstanding when it comes to iPads just work, vs Android. With the experience I have had with many customers who have both (some actually do have both at the same time) I would say that a decent major Android tablet will do as much out of the box as an iPad will. I know because I have spent as much time with helping people set their mail up on one as the other. They DO just work,

The big difference is that you have more that you can do with Android if you elect to do it. You also have access to multiple sites to get apps from unlike being tied to Apple alone, without having to do the Apple equivalent of a jail break. There is also a greater selection of sizes and in some cases included features and obviously manufacturers. I have seen YouTube videos of 3 year old using Android tablets without a problem.