Bluetooth Tethering for Acer Iconia A500

pamie

May 26, 2011
Hi everyone,

I just got the Acer Iconia A500 and love it. I am trying to do bluetooth tethering using PDANET so I can use my cell phones 3G/4G connection for Internet access when wi-fi is not available. I have the Samsung Epic from Sprint and when I try to pair it to the tablet the status on the tablet states "paired but not connected". The bluetooth status on my cell phone states "paired". Does anyone have any suggestions? I know there are apps that you can use for a rooted phone but since I'm still new to the android platform I really want to see what other options are out there for non-rooted phones. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Icebike

Apr 28, 2011
Bluetooth profiles included with this release include only A2DP (wireless headsets).
Additional profiles will happen come in June. Till then, nothing except headphones will work.
Not even my Jawbone.

Its often better to fix the Cellphone than the tablet. PDANET only does Ad-Hoc access points.
Its not a true router. It might be better to look for a package that converts the Sammy to a true
wireless access point, like the Nexus One.

panda

Apr 25, 2011
I have no problem pairing my A500 with my Nexus S, Windows 7 PC, and Sony MW600 headset. Have you tried disconnecting then reconnecting from each device?

Icebike

Apr 28, 2011
I have no problem pairing my A500 with my Nexus S, Windows 7 PC, and Sony MW600 headset. Have you tried disconnecting then reconnecting from each device?

But can you DO anything via your Nexus S or Win 7 PC?

If you re-read the first post, you will see that the message is "Paired but not connected". So Pairing is not the problem.

The problem is the the Bluetooth profile does not offer any thing except A2DP, (stereo music out). No file transfer, no modem, no network adaptor, no anything but stereo out.

panda

Apr 25, 2011