Gps dongle

RALIR

Jul 4, 2012
Hi,

I am a newbie to TF 201. I am slightly confused about GPS on TF 201. Does it have GPS facility or not? Consumer Reports in their tablet ratings indicated that TF 201 has GPS. Asus's own TF201 vs. TF300 comparison showed that TF 201 does not have GPS. But then, they also said people complained about GPS performance in certain regions and so they offer a free GPS Dongle. What gives?

Best Regards,

RaliR

Tom T

Feb 18, 2011
It does have GPS, but the metal case of the 201 interfered with its ability to get a strong signal, thus the offer of a dongle.

RALIR

Jul 4, 2012
Tom,

Thank you for your quick response. With your response and some of the general info on GPS on TF 201, I set out on a test drive in my car, loaded with GPS Test APP and GPS Status APP. What I was able to confirm that my unit not only has GPS but also works. How well is difficult to estimate.

A few minutes after I started to drive, slowly the Satellite in view started going up from 0 to all the way to 8 or 9. Then it took a few more minutes, the In-Use number started going up and then the GPS On button went from amber to green. As you would expect, these numbers fluctuated, sometimes dropping to 0 and cutting out the GPS and sometimes going fairly high to 7 or 8. In all this time, Google Map will show the map and my current location, but frequently it will cut out by unsharp images of the map. All this is happening in the car, which means I have no WiFi connection. So I do not know if that plays a role in showing maps in Google Map.

Bottom line is that as assured by you, my TF 201 has GPS.

General questions on GPS for you or anyone who can help me understand:

1. What do in-view and in-use mean? I would have assumed that if the satellite is in-view, the signal is received by the GPS (in-use). But it looks as if that is not the case.