Help picking and controling tablet

conkerb

Jul 16, 2012
Hi,
im looking to buy a tablet to install into my car, and need some help on which to buy, Must have GPS (not through 3g actual GPS) wifi and be 7 inch preferably an external gps reciever or bluetooth, must have android and must have either good internal memory or expandable with mem sticks (or usb host with HDD?) to at least 32gig
im new to android so needsome help, do bluetooth gps recivers work with "these" tablets, and due to mounting in my car i need to be able to control it with seperate buttons on my wheel, i can do the wiring just need help on how it interfaces with the tablet (thought about IR but need the headphone jack for music out) any help is appreciated and recommend me a tablet,

J515OP

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2011
Hi conkerb, welcome. There are a few tablets that will work for this though it can get to be quite a complicated project. Some 7" Tablets with GPS would include the Samsung Galaxy Tab (2 versions), Acer A100 and the new Nexus tablet. However many non-GPS tablets can in fact connect via bluetooth or usb to receivers so that you don't have to have built-in GPS on the tablet. Again, many tablets will also let you connect to a usb stick or HDD using usb hosting so this shouldn't be a particular issue either. What you can probably do is get a powered usb hub and then you can connect both a GPS receiver (if you want better signal even if you do get a tablet with GPS), the usb memory and the steering wheel buttons. This last one is going to take custom work since you will have to write an app or otherwise program the tablet to take input from the buttons via usb.