MIDX5A - can't install widgets

arachnophile

Dec 14, 2010
I have an midx5a version 2.1 and I can't install widgets. I download them and then go to the home screen, go to widgets and nothing is there except the search widget. I have tried about 15-20 widgets.

Any ideas?

Sent from my MID using Android Tablet Forum App

xaueious

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 9, 2010
You have the install the widgets like you install an application.

Once you do that, you should be able to see it within your widgets selection screen.

arachnophile

Dec 14, 2010
I am familiar with the basics of installing widgets. My problem is that they just dont show up in the selection screen. I read about someone else with the same problem on another forum but he just made a brief mention of it and he didnt really care.

cbarnesro

Dec 23, 2010
I also am having the problem with widgets. I admit I am new to android but I am not new to technology. It doesn't matter how many widgets I have downloaded the only widget available to add to the homescreen is the google search widget.

The Gauge Battery Widget shows the status bar icon but the widget itself is not listed to add to the home screen.

smartroad

Jun 7, 2010
Same problem here. Installed on my desire okay, but same widgets do not show on the tablet. Been searching but all I can find are other people with the same problem and no solutions. :-(

Sent from my HTC Desire using Android Tablet Forum App

michellynn

Dec 27, 2010
I have the same problem and seem to have found a solution of sorts. This website:
[App] AppWidgetPicker - xda-developers
has a link for a download of an app which will go around the default app used to manage apps on the android tablet. There are specific instructions on how and where to put this app on the tablet, however, I am stymied as to how I can access the file /system/app except on the tablet itself. (see the directions on the site for the app)