TABLET NOOB! Dont know whether to buy an iPad or Asus Eee Pad Transformer?

Cathaoir99

Dec 7, 2011
Im a noob, and basically dont know much about tablets, but after a little look into them, watching videos ect, im going to buy one. Ive narrowed my two down to the iPad 2 and the Asus Eee Pad Transformer. Im wondering which is best and why? Please dont comment if your a serious apple hater or certaintly not an apple fanboy lol

Also -
If anyone could let me know a little bit about the Asus Eee Pad and its functionalitys of what you can do ect

I will be using the tablet mostly for watching movies, internet browsing and playing games :)
Thanks in advance guys!

jseah

Nov 21, 2011
Pretty much anything you can do on an iPad you can do on an Android tablet. The real difference comes down to the OS. The Apple OS is more refined, smooth and seamless but it is also locked down much tighter. Android is open and can be configured to your heart's content. It is very similar to comparing a Mac to a Windows computer. With Apple being a large market segment, obviously going with Apple you will find way more accessories available for it.

Pamster

Nov 14, 2011
When I was looking into higher end tablets, I liked the Transformer, it's a really versatile device. I know people use them for all kinds of applications and uses. What are you mainly looking to do with your new tablet Cathaoir99? It's a nice device with a lot of flexability, especially with it's cool docking keyboard. If it was me, and I know it's not, I would go for the transformer or something like the toshiba thrive because it has the ability for the user to replace the battery as well as full sized HDMI and USB ports. I really liked the Thrive when we were thinking of going the higher end route. Good luck and happy hunting to you! Welcome to the board, glad you joined us, I hope you end up with the tablet you'll be happiest with. :D

pbrauer

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 24, 2010