A500 DualBoot

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Hacking' started by Electric_Road_Guy, May 16, 2011.

  1. Electric_Road_Guy

    Electric_Road_Guy Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    The World
    Tablet / Device:
    A500
    Is it possible to make a A500 into a dualboot tablet?

    Wondering if it is possible, and the way I may go about doing such a task.

    :)

    Thanks!!

    ~ERG
     
  2. lord_voldemort

    lord_voldemort Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Oregon, US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Dual boot windows and honeycomb? I don't think that's possible... at the moment. Maybe later when windows is out for ARM devices. I personlly would love to be able to dual boot between honeycomb and webOS. That'd be sweet.
     
  3. dayjob

    dayjob Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    dublin, ca
    Tablet / Device:
    acer a500
    It is possible as the Acer A500 was dual booted with HC and Win 7 at CES this past event. Other tabs also ran duel booted.
     
  4. PeteDee

    PeteDee Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Maybe you saw a W500 running Windows?
     
  5. HarshReality

    HarshReality Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Been poking about on this for some time... short answer is no. Actual answer is there are several resources (I wont quote them as I dont recall from the top of my head) but they sum up to running linux as a service and then using android VNC from within your android OS to actually use the OS. Just my 2 cents but this seems foolish and a complete waste of resources.. but the ones I have seen when VNC'n into them actually yield a desktop and a few simple applications.
     
  6. Ironhide

    Ironhide Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    ASus Transformer(16GB) , Acer Iconia, FlyTouch 3
    I've seen Ubuntu running on a tablet. Not sure how you can dual boot though.
     
  7. Rivera82falcon

    Rivera82falcon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
acer a500 dual boot
,

acer a500 dual boot windows 8

,
acer a500 ubuntu dual boot
,

acer a700 dual boot

,
acer iconia a500 dual boot windows 8
,
acer iconia a500 multi boot
,

acer Windows 8 Tablet Dual Boot

,

can linux lxle run on a acer iconia a500 tablet

,
dual boot acer a500
,
dual boot iconea a500
,
dual boot iconia a500
,
dualboot tablet
,
how do u dual boot a acer a500
,
how to dual boot acer iconia a500
,

install dual boot on acer iconia a500

,
multi boot acer a500
,
run windows on acer a500