A500 freezes after update.

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by jhrIII, May 30, 2011.

  1. jhrIII

    jhrIII Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I have a rooted A500, (gingerbreak), and since updating it, when I unplug it, it freezes causing me to have to reboot it. Has done it after wake up a couple of times as well. What gives?
     
  2. MrBlazito

    MrBlazito Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    There are a few other people who posted about this issue. I wonder if they were also rooted. I have had no freezing issues after the update (not rooted).
     
  3. SmoothSnake

    SmoothSnake Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    same issue (not rooted)...if it goes on standby for too long it freezes and you must reboot. There is other threads about this, suspect it is not an update or root issue
     
  4. uplade3

    uplade3 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    Asheville N.C.
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch II/SuperPAD Droid Charge/Razr, Galaxy S4
    Many many people have complained about this issue in these forums. Acer is coming out with a fix for it apparently.
     
  5. cdf3

    cdf3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Mine reboots after charging it. I'm also having issues with the unit not turning on at times. Might return mine and get something else.
     
  6. morrighu

    morrighu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    None Yet
    I can't speak to the Acer specifically, but I have seen rooted smart phones do the same thing. What seems to fix it for the smart phones is uninstalling and reinstalling all of the apps.

    HTH
     
  7. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    My complaint to acer on this issue got a response that indicated they knew nothing about it, and certainly didn't imply there was a fix coming.
    They actually asked me if I had added a hard drive or new memory to the device. ??!!??
    They wanted me to do a factory reset.
     
  8. morrighu

    morrighu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    None Yet
    Before you reset your device, back up all your apps and settings!
     
  9. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Don't worry, There's not a chance in hell I'm going to reset the device to factory.

    That was a "go away and don't bother us" suggestion from Acer, and I have no intention of doing it.
    I've worked with tech support long enough to know a formula answer when I see one.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

my acer tablet hangs during startuo