Acer HDMI issue

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by exmeaguy, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. exmeaguy

    exmeaguy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Cranberry Twp, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    When I connect my A500 via HDMI to my TV it does not work. The TV is a Westinghouse model and it's only 2 or 3 years old. I checked their website and there are no firmware updates. I also used 3 different HDMI cables and still does not work. I also tried using a HDMI to component cable and that did not work either.

    I did test the connection to 2 other newer TVs and they both worked.

    So, is there anything else left to try? Watching movies on my tablet while working out was the primary reason for buying a tablet, and now I feel like I have to replace a perfectly good TV if I want this to occur.
     
  2. 2000roadie

    2000roadie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    West Coast
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Are you able to scroll through the inputs on the TV? On mine (although not a Westinghouse), I have to change the input to the correct slot the tablet is connected too.
     
  3. StoneKy

    StoneKy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia a500
    Because I have so many HDMI Devices, I use a 5 PORT HDMI Switch Switcher Selector Splitter Hub + Remote 1080p FOR HDTV this way I don't have to bother with switching Inputs on my TV because everything goes thru the HDMI Port 1. You can get them for under $20.00 on eBay and Amazon.
     
  4. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    I agree with 2000Roadie, this is an INPUT settings problem on the TV.

    If you normally use HDMI on this TV (cable box, dvd player, etc), temporarily unplug that HDMI source and plug the tablet into that port.

    If that works, then go into the TV settings and make sure all the HDMI sources are enabled. You may well need the original remote for
    this, and the TV manual doesn't hurt either.

    In my TV, we had set up the un-used hdmi ports to "skip" which means they would not accept a signal or show in the list of
    inputs. Setting this back made it work fine. We also had the ability to label the inputs so that when selecting a source
    it would show the word Tablet.
     
  5. jpinsl

    jpinsl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    On my A500, the HDMI port on the tablet is loose. I have to hold the tablet facing me and gently push backwards on the cable for the connection to work. Try wiggling the connection on the tablet.
     
  6. StoneKy

    StoneKy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia a500
    Have you tried another HDMI Cable?
     
  7. mikeyboy88

    mikeyboy88 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Try unplugging the TV power cord, and plug back in after 10 seconds. That may reset the HDMI input on the TV.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  8. dianehelen

    dianehelen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia 500
    I had a similar issue with a 3 year old low end tv. apparantly the tablet can only output to and HDMI tv that is 720p or above. Did you get the little green android guy on the screen that said 720? That would indicate the TV is only 480i. OR the TV itself is just not HDMI.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

aceer tablet a500 wont connect to westinhouse tv

,
acer a100 hdmi cable troubleshoot
,
acer a100 hdmi output
,

acer a100 hdmi settings

,

acer iconia a100 hdmi not working

,

acer iconia a100 hdmi problem

,
acer iconia a100 hdmi settings
,
acer iconia a500 component connection
,

acer iconia a500 hdmi no signal

,
acer iconia hdmi not working no signal
,
acer iconia tablet hdmi stopped working
,
acer tablet not connecting via hdmi
,

enable hdmi on acer iconia a100

,
hdmi cord wont work on acer tablet
,
hdmi drivers for an acer a100 tablet
,
hdmi port not working acer tablet
,
hdmi slot stopped working on acer iconia a1 tablet
,
how to connect an hdmi cable to a samsung tv from a acer tablet
,
how to link my acer tablet to my samsung tv
,
tablette acer hdmi signal problem