Archos 70 - Upgraded to 2.2 and Neocore Benchmark Result Tanks

Discussion in 'Archos Tablets' started by TabletConnect, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. TabletConnect

    TabletConnect Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    NJ - USA
    I am benchmarking the Archos 70. The shipped unit came with 2.1 and Neocore consistently produce 37fps score. Now that I upgraded to 2.2, the score has dropped significantly to around 2.6fps. In addition, I used Softweg Benchmark and the GPU score also dropped from about 535 to 367.

    However when I tested it with 3D games, it seems to work fine. so it does not appear that performance suffers although the UI feels a little sluggish.

    Am I the only one experiencing this issue? Curious what others are experiencing.
     
  2. gurgle

    gurgle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Near 39.11°N 94.6°W
    Tablet / Device:
    Better question What don't I own, Oh a generic APAD
    Which firmware are you running? There was the 2.0.71 performance improvement and control added. I also know the default Optimal on 2.0.71 plays havoc on performance testers. If you run it in the "overdrive" (Poor name actual CPU GHz rating) You get better testing results but not the same as the "optimal"
     
  3. TabletConnect

    TabletConnect Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    NJ - USA
    Negative. I tried it with "overdrive" and still get the poor performance. Not good. Any else experiencing this?
     
  4. AnnoyedDragon

    AnnoyedDragon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Sorry to bump this thread, but I have recently purchased the same tablet; and I'm getting terrible Neocore benchmark results.

    Terrible as in 0.3fps...

    Has any solution been found regarding this?
     
  5. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 70 250 GB, Nook Color, Motorola Droid2Global, Droid 1
    Haven't tried neocore, but my nenamark is pretty decent, and my quadrant hangs between 1400 and 1500.

    Otherwise my performance is amazing running turbofly 3d (really fun hovercraft style racing game).

    Haven't tried any of the gameloft games yet.
    Our limitations are the fact that were underclocked to 800 mhz and our 256 ram.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Android Tablet Forum App
     
  6. TabletConnect

    TabletConnect Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    NJ - USA
    I have asked Archos to comment on the reduced performance so I will let everyone know if I hear back from them.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Android Tablet Forum App
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

neocore n10 tablet firmware info

,

sky go on archos 7