Can't Access WiFi from McDonalds with Vtab1008

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by JoelWUpchurch, Apr 18, 2012.

  1. JoelWUpchurch
    Offline

    JoelWUpchurch Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio vtab1008
    I was in McDonalds yesterday and tried to use the free wifi. I connected without a problem, but when I started the browser it brought up a signup screen and there was a checkbox asking me to accept the terms and conditions. This is pretty standard, but nothing I tried would actually check the checkbox, so I was stuck there. Has anybody else had this problem and know a workaround?
  2. jimbo7630
    Online

    jimbo7630 Guest

    You could try carrying a wireless mouse, (the smallest you can find) but you may need a USB adapter if you dont have a full size socket.

    Edit: Just a thought, did you try a stylus?
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 18, 2012
  3. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    You may want to try changing between the mobile site and the desktop version of the site. It sounds like the agreement check box was created in such a way that it doesn't render correctly with certain browsers or views. This is not uncommon and unfortunately is just poor web design.
  4. Ken401
    Offline

    Ken401 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri MO
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008, Xoom 4G
    You might try using other browsers to check that box.
  5. Roger2008
    Offline

    Roger2008 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western Illinois
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio HC VTAB1008
    Do you have the Vizio Honeycomb update? That could be the problem.

    Case in point:

    I use WiFi at a particular location that still works fine on all my other devices but now my Vizio Honeycomb tablet keeps saying "Incorrect Password" when it is an open network.

    BTW I am posting this from a McDonalds right now so I can not easily recreate the problem you mentioned.

    Update on my VTAB1008: Vizio will let me return it but they can not promise I'll get a working one back because they say Google is responsible for the update that does not work very well with the Adobe Flash Player.

    And yes, another person at Vizio has seen just part ot the problems I have found with the VTAB1008 after Google (according to Vizio) updated my Vizio tablet to Honeycomb without updating the Adobe Flash Player.
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2012
  6. Roger2008
    Offline

    Roger2008 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western Illinois
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio HC VTAB1008
    A bluetooth mouse would work too but from what I've seen of it your right mouse button and scroll wheel might not work.
  7. JoelWUpchurch
    Offline

    JoelWUpchurch Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio vtab1008
  8. james23p
    Offline

    james23p Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Memphis
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0
    Hmm tried my Vtab at McDonalds and had no issues with the stock browser and HC. But I get the same type of error at Burger King so go figure. Next time I am at BK I will try firefox and see what happens.

    Jim
  9. Oceanbreeze
    Offline

    Oceanbreeze Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 2
    I also, was @ McDonalds last week. My Samsung Galaxy 2 tablet would not allow me to check the box to agree to the terms for the free WiFi. The screen works properly with everything else. However, couple months when I was there, it was working. I still have my emails in the tablet from that visit. I called the AT&T phone# listed but always get a message to email. Sent email concerning my problem, but still no answer by email either. Can anyone help us?
  10. SEMIJim
    Offline

    SEMIJim Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    S.E. Michigan, U.S.A.
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
    My wife and I have used the free WiFi at several McD's, both around town and when traveling, with both our VTAB1008s and our Galaxy Tab 2 10.1s, and not had that problem.

    Yes: The check box is tiny. Have you tried pinch zoom to make it bigger? (I've never tried it. Never had to.)

    Jim

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
access mcdonalds wifi
,
android cannot connect to mcdonalds wifi
,

android phone wont connect to mcdonalds wifi

,
cannot canect to macdonalds
,
how do you sign into mcdonalds wifi with tablet
,
how to connect to mcdonalds wifi with iphone
,
how to get mcdonalds wifi for an android
,
i cant connect to mcdonalds free wifi
,
i cant log on to mcdobalds free wifi
,

problems logging in at mcdodalds

,
samsung galaxy tab mcdonalds wifi
,
stuck at mcd wifi login
,

tablet not working on mcdonalds wifi