How do i get a factory reset working market still there?

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 1' started by hdectablet, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. hdectablet

    hdectablet Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    I wanted try a couple of things witha new clean build after i have successfully rooted my kyros. i took a backup and i am able to restore it. i did a factory reset within the settings --> privacy tab and it goes into clockwork and i did a facotory rest there as well. when it is all complete i reboot and i get the android for the market still. i press the android but it will not let me go past that screen. how come my factory rest did not get rid of the google market?
     
  2. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    The ' factory reset' only formats /data and /cache. You'll need a factory system.img to flash a default /system. I may have a backup with a clean system.img, but I'm not at home right now. I'll look for it later if nobody else can get you a clean image.

    To flash the image, you should just have to run this via an adb shell or terminal emulator:
    Code:
    flash_image system /path/to/system.img
    reboot
     
  3. hdectablet

    hdectablet Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    ok that malkes sense now. that file is not on the tablet at all even if i do a restore?

    thank you so much l_n
     
  4. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    If you made a backup prior to adding the gapps suite, it will be in /sdcard/clockwork/backup/<date>/
     
  5. hdectablet

    hdectablet Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    right once i restore that backup will the system.img file be on my tablet?
     
  6. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    The system.img is part of the backup. If you boot into clockwork and select backup/restore and advanced restore, you can select which parts to restore (i.e. system, cache, data, etc)
     
  7. hdectablet

    hdectablet Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    ok cool thank i will try that

    thanks again!
     
  8. hdectablet

    hdectablet Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    ok that didnt work because the backup i have is still from when the tablet was rooted w/ market.
    i just want to understand this... the system.img is nowhere on the tablet after you root it? right?

    thanks again
     
  9. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    do you have the coby update.zip? Unzip it and there is a system image in it.
    The system.img I originally referred to is generated by clockwork recovery during the backup process.
     
  10. hdectablet

    hdectablet Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    great i have the update.zip file and i was just going to explore it. so i will use that thank you again for help and thank you for offering to upload the file to me greatly appriciated!

    HDECTABLET
     
  11. hdectablet

    hdectablet Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    ok so i found the file.
    its called boot.img
    so the command should be

    flash_image boot /sdcard/boot.img
    reboot

    right?
    or
    flash_image system /sdcard/boot.img
    reboot
     
  12. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    It's not boot.img that you're looking for. That wil only flash the boot partition, which only contains the kernel and initial ramdisk. You need to get the system.img from the coby update.zip or from someone with a clean copy of it.
     
  13. hdectablet

    hdectablet Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    l_n I have serached update.zip file and there is no system.img file. if it is possible could you see if you have a copy of that file?
    Thank you!
     
  14. hardcorehavok

    hardcorehavok Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I have the same issue. Is it possible to get a copy of that factory system.img as well. PLEASE! Thanks.
     
  15. hardcorehavok

    hardcorehavok Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I want my tablet back to the way it was out of the box if possible.
     

Share This Page