I Am Over the A500

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by kes601, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. kes601

    kes601 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Had a failed update over a month ago, had to send it in for "repair". Got it back 2 weeks later. Just tried applying the update again, guess what, it failed.

    I am over this crap of not being able to reload the OS without sending it in.

    I now remember why I stopped buying Acer devices for work.
     
  2. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Maybe it already HAD the update on it when it was returned.
     
  3. matt92617

    matt92617 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    i feel you. however every company got some bad quality stuff. did you try getting a new device?
     
  4. kes601

    kes601 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Huh? It wouldn't have told me it had an update available if it was already installed.

    I can understand failed updates (once, not twice), but making me send it in just to get the OS reinstalled is stupid and a waste of time and money. Let me put the OS on my MicroSD card and do a fresh install.
     
  5. kes601

    kes601 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    And again, I will be without it for 2 or 3 weeks as they won't even upgrade me to overnight shipping. I think a BBB complaint is in order.
     
  6. kes601

    kes601 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Yes, "we don't do that" was the response.
     
  7. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    Alot of users had the same problem installing this last update, it's all over the forums..
    There are ways to work around this, but it is a fail on ACER's part.
    This is why 3.2 was postponed to Sept 10th.
    So I flashed to HoneyVillain 1.1 (3.2) this evening ;) & its great!
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2011

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

reloading a acer iconic tablet