I need help setting up my Wifi

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Q&A' started by no1emi, Oct 21, 2011.

  1. no1emi
    Offline

    no1emi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID7125
    I just got my Coby Kyros MID7125, and I'm trying to set up the wifi. I put in the IP address, but I have no idea what a gateway is, or a netmask, or DNS 1 or 2. If someone could explain these things and where I get whatever they are from to put the information into my tablet that would be awesome. Thanks!
  2. pbrauer
    Offline

    pbrauer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,651
    Likes Received:
    557
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edina, MN USA
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC Thunderbolt, ViewSonic GTab, Huawei S7, Gentouch 78
    Where are you getting the IP Address from? What is the WiFi network you are trying to connect to?
  3. no1emi
    Offline

    no1emi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID7125
    It's my home wifi network, and our IP address is for our router.
  4. no1emi
    Offline

    no1emi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID7125
    on the menus of the wifi settings page it reads:

    MAC address
    Unavailable

    IP address
    Unavailable

    IP settings

    Use static IP (checkmarked)
    IP address (which I entered)
    Gateway
    Netmask
    DNS1
    DNS2
  5. no1emi
    Offline

    no1emi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID7125
    I figured it out! Thank you though. It popped up with our router name and connected automatically. :)
  6. no1emi
    Offline

    no1emi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID7125
    Well, now that it recognized our wifi connection, I keep trying to connect, and it keeps saying "Disabled, secured with WEP" but they never prompted me to type in the WEP code. I've tried connecting repeatedly.
  7. no1emi
    Offline

    no1emi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID7125
    Every other wifi that is in our range that I can click on has a space for the WEP code except the one I want to get into- could having the laptop running at the same time be interfering?
  8. Zelos
    Offline

    Zelos Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Community
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros Mid7012
    Can you post how you fixed it ?

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

hisense tablet IP address univailable

,

how do i find the settings on my hp tablet

,

how to do i set up tabet to my wireless tablet

,
i need help setting up my wi-fi
,
proscan android tablet static ip information
,

why does my proscan tablet plt223g say that my router is not in range when it is