Is it possible to root the a500 after the 3.2 upgrade and is worth doing so?

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by ellandry, Oct 15, 2011.

  1. ellandry

    ellandry Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Thanks in advance

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  2. ClayB

    ClayB Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    I have just been through this. I could find no simple gingerbreak or iconiaroot utility that would do this. So, I followed steps to revert back to a rootable version, and then installed clockworkmod on my A500 using Acer Recovery Installer. Once that was done, you can download a rooted 3.2 image and use clockworkmod to put such an image on your tablet. There were hiccups that had to be worked through, so the process is not for the faint of heart.

    Google 'iconia root 3.2' to find the threads discussing this process.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  3. ellandry

    ellandry Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    What makes the rooting worth it? Is the a500 more fictional?

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  4. ClayB

    ClayB Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    The reason I wanted my tablet rooted was so it could be made to recognize adhoc wifi hotspots. There is no reason to root unless you have a specific reason to do so.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  5. elsuirad

    elsuirad Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    Currently on KSA
    Tablet / Device:
    SAMSUNG S5 Mini
    There's no way you can root the OTA update to 3.2.

    I lost my root privilege after updating from 3.1 so I have to revert it and re-install my chosen ROM so I can root my A500 Tablet. Now, already tried 2 ROM and installed anoter one until I get the right ROM for my device.


    [​IMG]
    My A500 Rocks!
    Ex-Taboonay v2.0 user
    Ex-Thor Transformer Revolver 3.5 Port v4.1 user
    Currently using Taboonay 2.1 ROM
     
  6. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Correction:

    There is no way to root 3.2 YET.....

    If you like future headaches and assorted random problems for very little real gain, then rooting may be worth it to you.
    Its not worth it for me.
     
  7. Douvie

    Douvie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Nor me! I need a tab that is stable and works. As for HOTSPOTS, a friend of mine turned his Android phone into a hot spot and in less than 2 seconds I had access with the A500. Proves that there is no need to root your tab for that.
     
  8. ellandry

    ellandry Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Well no wifi hotspot option for me since my blackberry torch doesn't support the option. I could do it via Bluetooth however I would need to root I believe.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  9. bclinger

    bclinger Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    I was rooted before going to 3.2 and had no problems with anything. I wish 3.2 could be rooted and am seriously looking at stepping back.
     
  10. AndyMt

    AndyMt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Well - I rooted mine to be able to install AdBlockers like AdFree oder AdAway which both are based on hosts-file redirection. Other than that I personally have no use for root.

    I achieved it for 3.2 by installing a pre-rooted GEN1 image. Luckily it worked as an update so I didn't have to wipe the tablet. The whole process worked trouble-free in the end, but looked a bit scary in the beginning.
     
  11. ellandry

    ellandry Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Well does rooting allow the tablet more functionality it compatibility with hardware and accessories?

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  12. AndyMt

    AndyMt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    That depends what you do after rooting. With a rooted HC 3.1 I didn't get additional compatibility in regards to USB etc. although if you know what to do you could add additional drivers to do things like this. But I personally won't.
     
  13. ClayB

    ClayB Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Rooting allows you to remove/add/edit files in the system folders. For example, to get the tablet to recognize adhoc hotspots, you need to swap out the wpa_supplicant file in \system\bin folder with a version of this file that has been modified to recognize such hotspots. These kinds of actions cannot be done on a unrooted tablet. Of course, being able to do these actions is a doubled edge sword as you can easily brick your tablet.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  14. ellandry

    ellandry Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Sigh. I guess I'm just getting kinda annoyed with what seems to be very limited functionality for something that costs about the same as a laptop. With a laptop it seems you get more

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  15. buteomont

    buteomont Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    To me, it's more of an issue of ownership. If you don't have root access, the tablet is not really yours. :)
     

Share This Page