Jeff from NY with an SD card issue

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Q&A' started by gilren, Dec 17, 2014.

  1. gilren

    gilren Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Hello. I'm glad I found this site because my tablet is giving me fits. I'm using an Azpen A727 tablet with a 16GB SD card installed. In settings it shows the full 16GB space on my card, but when I go to install anythign it says I have insufficient space. Checking the Storage Use area for SD Card it says I have used 1.06GB and have 37MB free. I have some of my son's apps installed to the card but only at most the 1GB it says is actually used. I can't figure out how to get the tablet to see the other 15GB of space, because I'd really like to install some other things on this. Anyone think they can give me a hand?
     
  2. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
    Hello Jeff, congratulations on your Azpen tablet and welcome to the forum. Nice to have you as a member of Android Tablets. I'm moving your thread to the Android Tablet Q&A section for you, where more people familiar with that tablet are likely to join the discussion and try to help you. Good luck!
     
  3. PitCarver

    PitCarver Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    135
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo Idea Tab A2109; Hisense Sero8 tablet
    Hey Jeff, welcome aboard.
    What are you trying to install on to the external card? Not a big tech guy, but I've heard there are size limitations that are imposed.
     
  4. Musing

    Musing Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Tranformer Prime tf201
  5. gilren

    gilren Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Anything I try and install over 37MB says I have insufficient space.
     
  6. gilren

    gilren Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
  7. gilren

    gilren Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Update. I ended up returning the tablet and getting a new one, the old one was overheating badly. Same issue. The system looks at my SD card and will not install anything on it once 1GB is reached. A friend suggested rooting the tablet but that doesn't seem to have done anything.
     
  8. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
  9. gilren

    gilren Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    It scans as a 16GB card on my PC and in the 'storage' menu on the tablet. When I go to the apps tab it says the card is only 1.08GB. It does this with any card I use.
     
  10. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
    Run the test program I linked you to. It actually tries to use the card, instead of believing the data on the card.
     
  11. gilren

    gilren Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    I did. It shows it as a 16GB card.
     
  12. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
    If you didn't get a "DATA LOST" message, then it likely is a 16GB card. Have you tried another card in the tablet or formatting the card again in your PC?
     
  13. gilren

    gilren Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Tried my 8GB card in it, same results. I reformatted the 16GB card a few times now, still not working. I was reading somewhere that the company has even said that the device just won't go over the 1GB, the storage card is for moving things between devices but that seems really stupid. If it won't put anything on the card after 1GB then you can't transfer things off the tablet.
     
  14. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
    That does sound really stupid, but apparently it's true.

    Obviously, not anything larger than 16GB at a time.

    If that's a deal breaker for you, see if you can exchange it for a different brand of tablet. (BTW All the ads for it say you can expand the storage to 32GB via the SD card.)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

a727 tablet sd card

,

azpen a727 insufficient space

,
azpen a727 insufficient storage
,
azpen a727 out of space
,
azpen a727 sd card
,
azpen a727 sd card for apps
,
azpen big tablet storage space
,
azpen install on external sd card
,
azpen insufficent storage
,
azpen tablet overheating
,
azpen tablet wont install games to external sd card
,
delete pictures from azpen a727
,
how can i download to my azpen a727 external sd carl
,
how to free space on azpen a727 tablet
,
on my azpen a727 tablet it is giving me 1gb sd
,
reinstalling firmware on azpen a727 with external sd card