Limited memory browser issue

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by Jtpboy, Oct 31, 2011.

  1. Jtpboy

    Jtpboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio vtab1008
    Well the limited memory by not using the sd card struck my browser last night. It. Would open but could not follow any links. You have to go into the browser settings and clear the cache and anything else that is storing data. I have uninstalled any Apps that I rarely use but still am out of space for even market updates.

    We need the sd mount point fixed!



    Sent from my VTAB1008 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  2. sora72

    sora72 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Tablet / Device:
    vtab1008
  3. Jtpboy

    Jtpboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio vtab1008
    I did some time ago. I am really aggravated about the sd card issue and the fact that I paid $100 more then what you can get this for today, that amazon won't do anything about, and that I am well past the return policy but if vizio fixes the sd issue I could overlook all the other issues.

    Sent from my VTAB1008 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  4. redcloud

    redcloud Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Anacortes, Washington 98221
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia Tablet A500
    What OS are you running on your device?? Is it Froyo, or gingerbread, and what is the version of your OS......
     
  5. Jtpboy

    Jtpboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio vtab1008
    2.3.2 GRH78C

    Sent from my VTAB1008 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  6. redcloud

    redcloud Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Anacortes, Washington 98221
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia Tablet A500
    According to Vizio you can not download directly to the SD card. This makes using the SD card of little to no use, and so far they do not have a patch for this, according to info on their website. If I find updated how to info, I will pass it along. Maybe someone out there has a fix, but so far its a dead end.
     
  7. VizioDude

    VizioDude Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Frisco Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008
    I just bought my VTAB today at Costco, so I'm really new at this. Would you please explain what you mean by the "sd card issue" in your post? I would like to know if this is a deal breaker sized problem, or just an annoyance. - Thanks
     
  8. droid_dude

    droid_dude Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    This has been discussed in details in a bunch of other threads in this Vzio forum. Here is one of them:

    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/vizio-tablets/23405-sd-card.html

    Summary: Unlike other android devices,the VTAB uses virtual sdcard memory. In other words, it uses the built-in 2GB of storage for the SDCARD storage. Although you can add a 32GB SDCARD, it can only be used for movies, music, books, etc but NO applications. So essentially we have a 2GB limit in memory for applications (not up to 32GB). So, as you load more applications you will find out very fast that the 2GB storage limit is a real problem.
     
  9. marvin02

    marvin02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Visio VTAB1008
    VIZIO support is correct about one thing. The VTAB is not the only Android device that does this. Another example is the new Atrix 2 phone. Of course other devices that mount internal memory at /sdcard have at least 8 GB instead of 2.4 GB of internal storage.
     
  10. Jtpboy

    Jtpboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio vtab1008
    I got the dreaded insufficient memory message again this morning. It. Is really starting to get annoying. Time to uninstall some more little used apps so I can try some new ones. What a drag!

    Sent from my VTAB1008 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  11. ktackel

    ktackel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    VTab
    Would love to get some confirmation from Vizio that this can (and will) be fixed in an update soon.
     
  12. VizioDude

    VizioDude Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Frisco Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008

    Thanks, I appreciate you taking the time to reply. I will watch for this problem. It may be the dreaded "deal breaker" for me.
     
  13. VizioDude

    VizioDude Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Frisco Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008
    I have done as suggested and submitted this to VIZIO ...



    Reference #111101-000045 - Running Apps from the external SD card:

    Please Vizio, I really love my VTAB1008 but the inability to run programs from the "external" SD card is a deal-breaker for me, and from what I've been reading on many forums is a deal-breaker for lots of other Vizio tab owners. This is a major problem, not some picky little nuisance. Do the right thing and put out a patch/fix for this ASAP.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2011
  14. elgordo10

    elgordo10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Michigan
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab1008
    I found this on the Vizio site by Googling the problem. It tells how to manually move apps to the sd card. You can still have problems as some apps still cache their data on the internal memory. If this doesn't help or you are already doing this then there is a real big problem here. I have moved all the apps I've downloaded to the sd card using this and haven't had any memory troubles yet.

    Installing applictions (the link)

    The solution..
    How can I download applications directly to my SD card that is installed on my tablet?
    Currently you cannot download directly to your SD card. The applications will download to the internal storage of the VIZIO tablet.
    How can I move my downloaded applications to my SD card?
    Follow these steps to move applications from your tablets internal storage to the SD card.
    1. Settings
    2. Applications
    3. Manage Applications
    4. Choose the Application you want to move.
    5. Move to SD Card
     
  15. gonzo88

    gonzo88 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTab
    I just finished moving some Apps to the sd card but some couldn't be moved at all. I don't have many installed but it did free up some of memory.

    Sent from my VTAB1008 using Android Tablet Forum
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
adding additional ram to vtab vizio
,
best browser for vizio tablet
,
how to add ram to vtab1008
,

how to clear cache vizio

,
how to free up ram in a vizio tablet
,
how to upgrade ram on vizio tablet
,
increase application storage vizio tablet
,
ram for vizio tablet
,
vizio tablet browser
,
vizio tablet ram upgrade
,
vtab1008 memory upgrade
,
what browser is on my vizio tablet