NC News: Nook Color software update 1.0.1

Discussion in 'Nook' started by rico2001, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. rico2001
    Offline

    rico2001 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Software Updates - Barnes*&*Noble

    hmm I wonder what else this update does besides wifi performance improvement.
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  2. rico2001
    Offline

    rico2001 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    I think I'll manually install it and see what happens. :)

    Big file: Sideload_update.zip 161 mb
  3. rico2001
    Offline

    rico2001 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
  4. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    Me too. Plus, I think they're trying to break root!!! OK, I don't know that...but that's what they always say with Droid updates.

    -Matt
  5. rico2001
    Offline

    rico2001 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Yup... This is why I can't wait for custom roms to be developed.
  6. rico2001
    Offline

    rico2001 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Well my NC is perfect and exactly where I want it but I woke up this morning and I feel more adventurous. Since many people seem to have questions on newer rooting methods, auto nooters, apps, market, factory resets, etc., I guess I need to get experience on anything and everything pertaining to the NC development. So against my better judgement, I'm going to back up my whole NC, wipe it, go all the way back to stock, install the new NC update, re-root using the the "auto nooter" so I get get more experience and answer people's questions better.

    What else do I have to do today besides watch the Giants/Eagles game. :)


    Update: Came to my senses and changed my mind. There is issues with complete wiping so I'm holding off.
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  7. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    You know, you're why I love this forum so much...atm anyway. :p What a hilarious post.

    Really, don't sweat it. I know exactly what you mean...I was threatening for days to go back to stock, but haven't yet. The funny thing is FINALLY my wife is on the couch (OK everyone, not what you're thinking!) with the "practice" NC in her hands, reading a book. Hopefully she'll enjoy it. (I did notice that she started out holding it "in air" but after 5 minutes it was down, on her lap.) Really, I may end up slitting my wrists if she says "Oh, that was nice. But I think I prefer my old Sony eReader." :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

    Hopefully she'll prefer the NC, and I'll get to continue improving it.

    So yeah, anyway. One day at a time!

    -Matt
  8. rico2001
    Offline

    rico2001 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Update: well without my knowledge my NC updated itself to 1.0.1.

    So far:
    -lost root
    -can still get to apps list
    -most apps now won't work
    -zeam launch not working
    -angry birds still works so it's all good :)

    Well I'm going to attempt to manually root again, not too crazy about wiping and the auto nooter.
  9. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    Wow, I''m STUNNED! Let me take a look at mine...

    ...no change...yet...

    Angry Birds...???... I couldn't decide if you posted that video on the rooted NC just to yank my chain. But obviously you're not that kind of guy!

    Please post back your adventures/experiences re-rooting, etc.

    -Matt
  10. rico2001
    Offline

    rico2001 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Crap Astro not working. Well I have some work to do now on the NC. Hopefully the old root method will still work, I don't see why not. I need to get another cd card since I have too much on my 8gb card and don't want to wipe it away. I'm not too upset though, updates are bound to come and I backup all my apps anyway.
  11. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    Don't know why I've had my Droid for a year, and never tried Titanium (free)...been using Astro's backup utility. I've got Titanium on the NC, and afaik it's backing up my apps to sd nightly. I haven't tried restoring yet, but hopefully it will be as easy as I think it is!
  12. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    Another thought: we knew the update would come OTA, but...how...?

    I mean: you got your phone from Sprint, me from Verizon. When we get OTAs, our carrier is the one that releases them. The carrier has the handset IDs, and we know that the handsets phone home (literally) from time to time. So there is a logical relationship between the phone and the communications company that sold it to us.

    OK, I realize that by registering our devices with B&N that more or less the same infrastructure is created. It just feels a little strange to me that B&N is doing things the same way. I guess if you said "B&N isn't doing it. They've licensed a third-party to do it. Gave them all the device info, and said 'Have at it!'" I'd have to agree that sounded reasonable.

    I dunno...just a random rant I guess...

    -Matt
  13. rico2001
    Offline

    rico2001 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Update: The manual root method using the nooter0.2zip didn't work after my NC updated to 1.0.1. Looks like I will have to factory reset my NC.
  14. rico2001
    Offline

    rico2001 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Update:
    -Performed factory reset
    -Erased and de-registered
    -Flashed back to 1.0.0
    -Set up and re-registered
    -manually installed update 1.0.1

    I'm now going to try one last time the manual root method.
  15. rico2001
    Offline

    rico2001 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Update: Success!!!

    -I successfully re-rooted my NC after 1.0.1 update, using the old manual root method.
    -Used adb to install ASTRO
    -Now on to reinstalling all my apps from backup.

    :)
  16. dhoff21
    Offline

    dhoff21 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    rico2001,

    Good news that it can be re-rooted. I had mine on wifi and looked over and saw the install icon going and was not too thrilled. Would it be possible for you to put a bit more detail as to how to accomplish the steps you listed above, or links to that info, if possible. I know just enough to be dangerous with this whole rooting thing.

    Thank you.
  17. rico2001
    Offline

    rico2001 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    ^ Will do, working on post now.
  18. rico2001
    Offline

    rico2001 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Re-rooting your NC from auto update of 1.0.1.

    If your rooted NC automatically updated itself to software version 1.0.1., you lost root. Here is what you need to do to re-root your NC.

    -Hopefully by now you have backed up your apps with ASTRO. If not, ASTRO has probably stopped working and you are too late
    -You will now need to reset your NC back to factory.
    -Use the tutorial here to help: Flash back to clean stock ROM - nookDevs
    -Turn your NC on and hold power button to turn it back off before it boots. Repeat this 8 times, then you will boot into factory reset flash back to software version 1.0.0.
    -Then Erase and de-register your NC (not sure if this is nesseccary but I e&d'ed my NC just to be thorough)
    -Once complete you will have a NC, exactly how it came out of the box and it will ask you to register your NC (I registered mine at this point).


    Now that you are un-rooted, you need to update to 1.0.1
    -Plug you NC up your your pc.
    -Unlock screen, so NC goes into usb mode
    -Download update 1.0.1 http://images.barnesandnoble.com/presources/download/nookcolor/v1.0.1/Sideload_update.zip
    -Copy update zip to root directory (see pic)

    [​IMG]

    -Turn off the NC (power off)
    -Turn it on
    -Press the power button for a moment to cause the NC to go to sleep.
    -Wait. The system will install the new update.
    -Now you have an un-rooted NC running software 1.0.1


    Now to re-root
    -Prepare your spare sd card for rooting
    -Right click on winimage.exe and run as administrator (if not, your SD card will not be recognized).
    [​IMG]

    -Go to Disk and select your sd card (Use removable disk)
    [​IMG]

    -Then select "Restore virtual hard disk..."
    [​IMG]

    -Again select your sd card
    [​IMG]

    -A window will pop up asking for the location of nooter02 image (manual method), use auto nooter image if you are using the auto method.
    -Use pull down to see all files.
    [​IMG]

    -Select image file
    [​IMG]

    -Winimage will ask you if you want to create this image, press yes.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    -Turn off NC.
    -Insert your newly created sd card (image)
    -Plug the usb cable up to your NC and PC
    -Screen will remain black
    -Light on the usb cable will flicker for a minute or so.
    -Flash should be complete.
    -Unplug your usb cable.
    -Remove the sd card.
    -Hold the power button for 15 seconds.
    -Press power button again for ~3 seconds to re-power the NC.
    -Re-insert your normal sd card, one you were using for storage.

    Finished, you now have a rooted NC running software version 1.0.1.

    reference: http://www.nookdevs.com/NookColor_Rooting


    -Next post: how to restore your backed up apps.
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2010
    • Like Like x 2
  19. JackOnan
    Offline

    JackOnan Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    I saw somewhere there is a utility to set the boot count so you don't have to actually restart it 8 times - only once. I'll post the link when I find it.

    Edit. Here is the link - but looks like it requires root, doh! So, not useful if you got auto-updated, but maybe good for something:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=879922
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2010
  20. rico2001
    Offline

    rico2001 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Restoring apps from backup

    Here is how you restore your apps after update and re-rooting using ASTRO.


    -Use adb to install ASTRO apk.
    -Insert your sd card with your backed up apks.
    -Unplug usb cable and unlock home screen.
    -Go to "Extras" and you should see ASTRO installed to your NC.
    [​IMG]

    -Open ASTRO.
    -Press setting button to pull up ASTRO menu.
    -Press Tools button.
    [​IMG]

    -Press Application Manager and Backup.
    [​IMG]

    -You will see only ASTRO is installed.
    [​IMG]

    -Press "Backed Up Apps"
    -Check all apps you would like to retore (re-install)
    -Press install
    [​IMG]

    -After all apps install, reboot
    -Then go back into "Extras" to see your restored apps.
    -Enjoy.
    [​IMG]

Share This Page