Non Gmail Email Troubles

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by mulegal, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. mulegal

    mulegal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet
    New Vizio 8" tablet. I've tried to set up my existing ATT/Yahoo email account. I can recieve email on this addy but not send. Screen says connection error after I try to send mail. I've setup the outgoing specs: smtp.att.yahoo.com, port 465, and SSL connections as per ATT but still can't send mail from this accout . Gmail works fine. Any ideas?
    Thanks
     
  2. SEMIJim

    SEMIJim Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    S.E. Michigan, U.S.A.
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
    Try port 587, as well. Also, if there are multiple options for secure email sending, try each of them, on each port.

    Different mail servers and clients sometimes require different combinations.

    Jim
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. mrblase

    mrblase Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Milford, CT
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby mid7015
    I can send and receive my AT&T/Yahoo email by logging in to my AT&T/Yahoo home page and going to mail. Am I missing something here?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. mulegal

    mulegal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet
    No luck yet. How many ports are there? The Vizio gives me 5 options for security settings but the port window is open to whatever I enter in there. Thanks again

     
  5. mulegal

    mulegal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet
    Yes that might be the way I have to go. I was hoping to avoid the extra steps of logging into yahoo and going to email.

    I see you are from Milford, CT. I lived in Milford in the 80's..small world.

     
  6. swynkoop

    swynkoop Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    denver
    Tablet / Device:
    vtab1008
    This may not be helpful in addressing this specific problem, but Yahoo has a Yahoo Mail App that works just fine for me.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. SEMIJim

    SEMIJim Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    S.E. Michigan, U.S.A.
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
    For email there are three (3): SMTP (25), SMTPS (465) and submission (587). SMTP (25) is only supposed to be used for server<->server email traffic. SMTPS (465) is SMTP secured and is most often used by clients, such as yourself. It is deprecated in favour of submission (587).

    SMTP (25) these days will usually be unencrypted and not allow login/authentication, but there are some hangers-on still misusing it. SMTPS (465) will usually be SSL-only, and usually plain auth/login. Submission (587) will usually be TLS (negotiated, but with encryption enforced), and may negotiate the login/auth type.

    (And all of that is probably far more than you ever wanted to know ;).)

    Jim
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. marvin02

    marvin02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Visio VTAB1008
    • Like Like x 2
  9. mulegal

    mulegal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet
    Well thanks everyone. And SEMI Jim, Big thanks for the info.

    Seems when I first tried to set att addy up, I unchecked the "Require sign-in" box. Just now I 'checked' box again and added username and password and all systems seem good to go now. Sorry to take up time on a simple set-up user error, I sure appreciate all the help.
     
  10. marvin02

    marvin02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Visio VTAB1008
    mulegal,

    Glad you got it working.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

swynkoop yahoo

,

viziolan tablet yahoo mail setup