Sleep Mode & Battery Use

Andre86

Aug 7, 2011
Hey guys, I'm new to his forum : )

I am thinking of the A500's battery usage while it is in sleep mode. The 'Battery use'-tab shows me what uses the battery most. In my case it is the screen, followed by Tablet idle and Android OS. I think there's nothing special about that, but Android 3.1 introduced this fancy one-pixel bar under the battery-diagram that shows me that my tablet is not sleeping very well... It's running more or less all the time.

I tried to fix that, but nothing worked:
  1. I changed Wi-fi disconnect policy to 'When screen turns off'
  2. I disabeld automatic email-syncing (I use an Imap-email server)
Can there be an app running in the background, that stops my tablet from sleeping?

Thanks for any advice,
André

Icebike

Apr 28, 2011
Look, you are on the wrong track here.

You've taken all the wrong steps. You've made your tablet less useful, and for what?
All in the quest for a full battery?

Use your battery, that's what its for. Plug it in when it's sitting idle.

But don't shut down essential functions just to have a battery reading 5% higher. You want your email checked, you want your apps updated, you want to get your Google Talk instant messages.

Wifi sleep Never actually saves battery. It takes less power to keep it alive than to wake it up all the time.
Set your gmail to use IMAP and disabled pop. That takes less power on the tablet because of the way it works.

I use the hell out of my tablet and I still have 25% battery when I go to bed at night.

Use your battery. Make the tablet work for you, not the other way around.

Andre86

Aug 7, 2011
I believe if I'm saying the display uses most of the energy, you can't blame me not to use my tablet.