Titanium Backup question

Discussion in 'Nook Color Technical' started by coase, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. coase

    coase Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    DC
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    When using Titanium Backup it asks me to adjust phone settings in "Applications" and tick the "Unknown Sources" checkbox. But try as I might, I can't find anywhere using Nook Color Tools a box listing "unknown sources." Can anyone help me here?
     
  2. Carbira1

    Carbira1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Michigan
    Tablet / Device:
    Waiting for a good iPod Touch Android Device
    It still works just fine for me. Did you try to use it without changing the setting?
     
  3. Rhonda19

    Rhonda19 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    mississippi
    Tablet / Device:
    nookcolor
    Do you have to install this app, if you are rooted using the auto nooter? I am wanting to root to Froyo, and have been doing some reading. I read somewhere you had to have this app....and then another website said you didn't have to have it??

    I'm thinking I'm getting myself confused?? :)
     
  4. AnimaTechnica

    AnimaTechnica Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    california
    Tablet / Device:
    Droid, Haipad 701, Rooted Nook Color
    you need to leave titanium backup, go to settings, and click on applications, check the unknown sources there

     
  5. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    You do not need to have this app for any reason other than wanting to make back ups of apps and app data. There is a free version if you want to try it out. Again, this is for back up purposes only (which makes it a good idea) and has nothing to do with modifying or using ROMs.
     
  6. coase

    coase Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    DC
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    But in Settings there is no place called Applications. There are simply the various App Settings and the four subheadings are Home, Shop,Social, and Search. I don't see anyplace which just has Applications or any subheading where I can find unknown sources.
     
  7. coase

    coase Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    DC
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    P.S. I need Titanium Backup to erase the info on Youtube because the Youtube app is misbehaving on my rooted (autonooter 3.0) CN.
     
  8. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    In the stock autonooter nook (from memory since I'm on phiremod right now) you have to go to NookColor Tools in the app drawer. From there you should be able to find it.
     
  9. coase

    coase Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    DC
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    That's exactly the point. I can't find the right place under Nook Color Tools.

    I tried.
     
  10. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Ok, just wanted to clarify that you should be looking under Nook Color Tools not some other settings page. In any case it should be under Nook Color Tools if not under Applications it is there someplace. There aren't too many menus it can be under. Just check and uncheck the box when you find it.
     
  11. coase

    coase Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    DC
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    I know. It sounds obvious, but no matter how I search I can't find it. Is this a mistaken prompt?
     
  12. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Go to Nook Color Tools check and uncheck and recheck the "Allow Non-Market Apps" box.
     
  13. theksp111

    theksp111 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    i've got the same issue as coase.
    youtube won't work and all forums say to download and run TiBu to clear the youtube data.
    But I got the error message saying to go Settings-> Applications-> unknown sources. Can't find the unknown sources box

    I tried restarting the app several times and reinstalling it and also powering down and restarting the nook. Also tried checking and unchecking the "allow non market apps"

    Can I just remove the youtube app and then reinstall it?
     
  14. theksp111

    theksp111 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Coase - Do you have a memory card inside of your nook?
    I found out that titanium backup does not work without it. After I put it in then it worked.
     
  15. coase

    coase Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    DC
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Yes. There is a 4G uSD card.
     

Share This Page