What's yout take on this low priced tablet?

Jack2435

Oct 27, 2011
Hi! I'm new to Android community and I'm looking to buy a low priced tablet - MPMAN MP1027. I'm going to use it for web-browsing, watching movies, reading books and listening to the music. I don't need a camera, GPS and 3G.

Here are the specs:
$spec.png

I've got a few questions:

1.) WHAT'S YOUR TAKE?
What do you think about the tablet, does it lack something crucial? Is the display sufficient compared to other android tablets (viewing angles, is it IPS?), do you think the battery's good enough, are the speakers on low priced tablets any good?

2.) ABOUT THE SYSTEM?
As I said, I don't know much about Android. Will I'll be able to upgrade it to Honeycomb (do I need to do this at all?). Is the tablet able to play file formats like mvk files (does this depend on tablet specs or OS/apps?). It says in specs that the USB connection supports a maximum storage size of 4 GB (What does that mean? Is this the same on all Android tablets?)

3.) READING EXPERIENCE
Is the 16:9 display appropriate for reading books?
Could such processor/RAM handle complex pdfs (newspapers, magazines and such). Is the zooming and turning pages going to be smooth or can I expect lagging?
I read somewhere* that it weigh 1.58 lb - Is this too much for holding it in your hands for a longer time - like when reading in bed?

* I couldn't find any user review on the web (also not many additional info besides specifications) but I noticed it's practically the same tablet as Coby's Kyros MID1125. The only visual difference is that the former two more buttons and Android 2.2 installed (the latter has 2.3).

Last edited:

chagud

Oct 27, 2011
Hi there: