Wifi issue with Iconia

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by 5_star, Jun 12, 2011.

  1. 5_star
    Offline

    5_star Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello everyone.

    I've just got myself a A500 after much deliberating on which tablet to get. Very happy with it but I am experiencing some issues re connecting to wifi. I've done a search in this and other forums but can't see any similar threads.

    The issue is staying connected to my home wifi when I go into other rooms around my house. I get a strong and unbroken connection when in the room where my router is located but if I move into the next room, with just one wall between, the signal drops to 2 bars and repeatedly disconnects, reconnects and disconnects again. It stays connected for about a minute before disconnecting.

    I've a couple of laptops which receive the wifi signal at full strength throughout my house, so I don't think it's an issue with the router (Netgear DGN2000).

    I've seen in other threads suggestions that security protocols could be an issue, but given I get an unbroken connection when I'm in the room with the router I don't think this is the problem. I'm using WPA-PSK security and have tried with security turned off.

    Any help / suggestions would be much appreciated, otherwise I think I'm going to have to return the tablet :(

    Thanks
  2. theallspark
    Offline

    theallspark Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Philippines
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    That's a common problem with the A500, it has a weak wifi coverage. even though I am close to my router, I only get 2-3 bars, rarely 4 bars. but I never disconnect. Also, when in hotspots, it has trouble connecting, at least mine is. Hmm. what im doing now is just wait for the upcoming update and hope that will fix this issue. Well if you'd want to return it, that's fine also. Just hope for a better one. or check the kernel version. mine is 1.141.xxxGEN1.
  3. dhornick
    Offline

    dhornick Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia tab / moto droid x
    well i posted this very issue in a previous topic on this foum. i bought a wi fi extender and it solved all of my issues
  4. bonzer2u
    Offline

    bonzer2u Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southern Oregon...
    Tablet / Device:
    NookColor
    I exchanged mine for another unit and had significant improvement. I was also advised by acer tech support that there was a known hardware issue with a batch of wifi modules......
  5. 5_star
    Offline

    5_star Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks guys
  6. Marion123
    Offline

    Marion123 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hot Springs, AR
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia 500 tablet
    To dhornick: what kind of wifi extender?
  7. eclipse3g
    Offline

    eclipse3g Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I've also realized that the alum rear panel of the A500 is great at reducing the wifi signal, I can observe 1+ bars difference of signal strength due to the orientation of the A500 to wifi router. If the back of the A500 is facing the router the signal strength is reduced, and if the display is facing the wifi router the signal improves.
  8. dhornick
    Offline

    dhornick Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia tab / moto droid x
    i just got a netgear wi fi extender from best buy. it was kind of pricy but well worth it for me.
  9. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    What exactly is this?
  10. 5_star
    Offline

    5_star Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Looking into this, you can make a wifi extender if you want to do it on the cheap

    Make a Wi-Fi Extender
  11. Douvie
    Offline

    Douvie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Well today I was using the wifi at McDonalds (out in the car park, at approx 50m from entrance) had 2 bars and worked fine. The other day I was inside the same establishment and I couldn't get a signal - no one else was using the wifi - no one inside or out.

    I believe the routers could be faulty. Sometimes inference from other devices you're not aware of may interfere with the signal. Even a neighbour's wireless router could be masking same signal and channels. Radio coms has problems when there is sunspots and the like. So the same would intefere with wireless networking devices.

    :cool:
  12. dhornick
    Offline

    dhornick Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia tab / moto droid x
    from what i gather its basically a device that takes your exisiting wi fi signal and repeats it over an extended range. its also good because you can plug up to 4 ethernet cords into it to use a gaming system or something else.
  13. dhornick
    Offline

    dhornick Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia tab / moto droid x
    yeah ive seen that unfortunately my router doesnt have the antennae so it wasnt an option for me but i would certainly try it out if i could
  14. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    You can still use the idea...just put the reflector on the other side of the router opposite the direction you want the signal to go...I bet just some foil over a square of card board would be enough. You could then play with the separation between router and reflector as well as the orientation of the router itself. It would greatly help to what kind of antenna system is inside, though.
  15. 2wheelsagain
    Offline

    2wheelsagain Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia A500 32gb
    My A500 WiFi reception is as good or better than the 3 laptops & 3 smart phones in this house. Never disconnects even outside with 1 bar showing. Router is a stock Netgear DG834 (g)
  16. FoFoJoe
    Offline

    FoFoJoe Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    'Merica
    Tablet / Device:
    ACER Iconia A500
    hello everyone,
    My Acer has similar problems, my router is on the other side of the house (cant move it, dont ask) and i like to be upstairs. Most of the time, i can maintain atleast 3mps, (i know), but i got 8mps after turning off "background data". excited, i went to the market to test out the speed, but was sadened to figure out that android market requires background data.. and setting i can adjust to fix this?

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

acer a200 wifi problems

,
acer iconia b1 wifi problem
,
how to get better recetion on acer iconica tablet a200
,
probleme wifi iconia tab a200