Will the new 7" Acer Iconia have GPS?

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia A100' started by rob125, Aug 7, 2011.

  1. rob125

    rob125 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Tablet / Device:
    none...yet!
    Acer just put out a press release a few days ago saying that their 7" inch tablet is on the shelves!

    Press

    For just $300 it sounds great, but the Acer website does not say whether or not it comes with a built-in GPS. Many websites list specs which say that this will have a GPS...but some sites say that it won't. And the official Acer website ignores this matter.

    Does anyone know if it really will include a GPS?

    Also, what stores will carry it? I checked around, and it seems that at the moment, no one in the USA really does have it "on the shelves".

    Robert
     
  2. Danny727

    Danny727 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Maryland
    Tablet / Device:
    Lots
    I would also like to know this, I would buy now if it does, like everything else about it but I would need gps, not a bluetooth setup, but internal.Thanks for any help.
     
  3. robdroid

    robdroid Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    If it does have a GPS.... will it be as poorly executed as the GPS on the 10" Acer Iconia?
     
  4. Mike02z

    Mike02z Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    United States
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Yup, it has GPS. I just picked one up at Walmart. See below. I just unboxed it and set it up. Will provide feedback once I have had a chance to mess with it for a while.

    I got mine at Wal-Mart for 328 with a 50 Gift card. The store near me only had 2 left when I got there and the guy said they just put them out this morning.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. alphawave7

    alphawave7 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    San Fran
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Got mine @ Wally's too..only one they had (and electronics manager didn't even know it existed, let alone there was an ad and a $50 GC about it)...it's MUCH lighter (as you'd expect) than the A500..I can see using it in bed more than the A500, as well as the fact it's PERFECT for in-car use. :D The GPS is similar to the A500, it needed a helper, which came by my Wifi hotspot from my TMO Sensation.
     
  6. Tom T

    Tom T Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,632
    Likes Received:
    191
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Washington State
    Tablet / Device:
    Hauwei S7
    My Local Wallmart has them, but I am concerned about battery life. I was ready to buy when I read it only has a smaller battery than my S7 and I had to replace it because I could barely eek out 4 hours of battery life from it. Some feedback would be greatly appreciated. My Galaxy Tab 7" gets about 6.5 hours and I this often JUST gets me through the day.

    Sent from my GT-P1010 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  7. aldrin

    aldrin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia A501
    How do I see my SD card on my tablet I have a Acer iconia a501

    Sent from my A501 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  8. alphawave7

    alphawave7 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    San Fran
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Sort of OT, but /mnt/external_sd. Use a file manager to create a shortcut for your desktop.:)

    Sent from my A100 using Tapatalk
     
  9. PeteDee

    PeteDee Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    What seems to be the problem, my A500 GPS works just fine.

    Pete
     
  10. Jsmphoto

    Jsmphoto Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Virginia
    Tablet / Device:
    Galaxy Tab
    I just played with one at walmart and it does have gps - pretty sharp tablet!

    Sent from my SPH-P100 using Android Tablet Forum
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

acer tablet wallmart

,

does acer iconia havee gps

,

does acer iconia one 7 have gps