Just got tablet...switched to CWM...Vegan 5.1 works - CM7 hangs at birds!! Need Help.

treepog

Jun 21, 2011
I am very new to tablets so I need all the help I can get. Yesterday I bought a brand new G tab at compUSA. I followed the instructions at XDA and installed CWM followed by Vegan 5.1. Before doing that I also downgraded to 1.1.

Then I found out I could not run Netflix on Vegan so I loaded CM7 onto my Tab and flashed it. seems like it was installed but when I power up the tab it gets stuck on the Viewsonic/birds screen. I went back into CWM then flashed back to Vegan and that still works perfect.

What am I doing wrong???

Thanks in advance :)

Last edited:

Swould333

Aug 5, 2010
just before you're about to load CM7 from clockwork..... do a factory data reset.. it's one of the options that's in clockwork.... then go ahead and do a cache wipe for good measure... then go into the advanced menu .. clear the dalvik cache.. then back to the first screen of clockwork.. go to mounts and storage.. mount the system(if not mounted already).. mount the data(if not mounted already)... go back to the main clockwork screen.... flash CM7.... should be good... if it hits the birds roadblock again .. do another factory data reset and reboot again...

Somtimes data from different roms may be left behind if you don't do the wipes between flashings... if you're going from a rom of one version to another of the same version it may not bother the new install.. but Vegan is a Froyo rom and CM7 is a Gingerbread rom... they're not in anyway compatible on a system level.

treepog

Jun 21, 2011
Thanks for the reply. I tried doing the flash to CM7 a couple times and I did factory data reset and wiping cache and dalvik. Still no dice. Went back to Vegan 5.1 again with no problem.

Anything else I can do? CWM seems to be working just fine and when I run Vegan all is good too.