New and Confused

cricketfern

Oct 8, 2012
Hi all, I'm looking for some recommendations. I'm new to the world of tablets and don't know what to look for.

My son's laptop was essentially stolen (long story) But he has a desktop so I was thinking that instead of another laptop a tablet might be best. He needs it for email and the internet, maybe watching hulu or netflix. I would also like him to be able to take decent quality photos (of my new grandson) and to skype. I'm not sure what else you can do on a tablet - he probably would play internet games, but doesn't need it for Office or anything like that. Can anyone here make some suggestions of what to get him. I'm looking for something cheap - or somewhere cheap. About $100 or so. If I wait until Christmas I could triple that but I'd only want to do that if there was some new operating system coming out or some major advantage. I have an older pandigital nova that I purchased mainly for digital books, but of course, there's no camera. I know Big Lots has Proscan and Emerson both with cameras and they were cheap but I don't know if they are any good. I have also seen MID brand cheap but the same problem exists.

There is also this one:
[h=2]MID 9" Google Android 4.0 OS 1.2Ghz Tablet PC Capacitive Multi-Touch 8GB Wifi USB for $98[/h]
and
[h=2]Zeebook 7" Android 4.0 Tablet Bundle for $85[/h]
are either of these any good?

His birthday is in two weeks so ANY suggestions would be appreciated. Even if the suggestion is "no, you don't want a tablet at all."

Thanks so much for your time.

leeshor

Dec 27, 2011
Welcome to the forum

I personally wouldn't go anywhere near either of those tablets. The price alone would scare me. If that's absolutely all you can afford then the MID may do it if it's a starter tablet and your son doesn't plan on doing much more than mail and browsing.

cricketfern

Oct 8, 2012
Why does the price scare you - too good to be true or are they bad machines?