New to Android and bewildered

pustyak

May 10, 2011
I am completely new to Android and to tablets. Within the last two weeks, I bought a Viewsonic Gtab and through some sort of a miracle, managed to install a VegAN rom. I like the Gtab except that it is too large and too heavy to be of much everyday use to me. So yesterday, I bought a Nook Color which I intend to transform into a fully functioning Android tablet, and my main tablet. I will use the Gtab to experiment on and for power applications.

I decided to go with an Android tablet because I know nothing about Android and because the iPad seems just like a big iPod Touch to me. I have an iPod Touch, and I'm not so in love with it that I wanted to buy one on steriods. Also, the iPads have limited expandability and are really closed systems.

So, I'm learning the Android OS. Actually flashing the GTab was easier than learning the Android OS itself for me because I have flashed roms in the past.

I would appreciate it if anyone could answer a few questions about the Android OS:

- What is the purpose of the home screen except to look good with a nice clock on it?

- What is the connection between the home screen and the screen with all the apps listed?

- Can any apps be put on the home screen?

- What is a program launcher?

- Is it possible to go from an app to the screen with all the apps listed without first going through the home screen?

Thanks in advance. I look forward to learning a lot here, and maybe contributing as I learn more and more about Android.

pbrauer

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 24, 2010
- What is the purpose of the home screen except to look good with a nice clock on it?

- What is the connection between the home screen and the screen with all the apps listed?

- Can any apps be put on the home screen?

- What is a program launcher?

- Is it possible to go from an app to the screen with all the apps listed without first going through the home screen?