New to Android and tablets

onebree

Jul 13, 2011
Hello. This is my first post on the site. I have not looked through other topics or threads, as I am just beginning my tablet search.

I've been an Apple user since the 2nd generation Nano, 1st gen iPod touch, and 3rd gen iPod touch. I have gotten used to the iOS, and almost wanted to buy an iPhone. However, this past week, my father bought the Asus EEE Pad Transformer. My family and I love the device. Fiddling around with it has cemented my decision to want a tablet as my next device upgrade from my iPod.

Since Tuesday, I've been Googling and searching everything I can about available tablets. I am not sure if there are just not many tablets out, but I keep getting hits from only a few key brands -- Asus, Dell, Samsung... I currently have a laptop, but I would like a device more versatile than an iPod, but not a replacement for my computer. I am entering my senior year of HS this fall, and my freshman year of college next year. I am particular in what I want in a device, and would rather have one great tablet now (or soon), than buying another one for college.

• 7" in size. Depending on how my high school's policy on personal devices is altered this fall, I may just get my father's tablet with the attachable keyboard.
  • Honeycomb. I've heard you can root a device to update to 3.1, but I'd rather not tamper with such system files.
  • Front and back cameras. Especially if I needed to take a quick video of a class or such.
  • No buttons on the front. I already find the home button on my iPod annoying, and would rather there be no pressable buttons outside the frame of the device.
  • Full Android integration. My mother has the Nook and has to pay insane prices for apps that my father gets for free through the actual Android Market.
  • At most $600 in price. (Without accessories) I have enough money, but I am still a student and need leftover to pay for gas or books.