Please help me

asmd2020

Oct 5, 2012
Please help me. I am new to Tablets, I just bought a tablet from Big Lots...it was cheap but seems to be a decent tablet. It is a ProScan PLT8031, 8" Android 4 http://www.curtisint.com/products/Images/SpecSheets/PLT8031.pdf It looks different than the picture but thats the PDF from the web page.

It doesnt have google play and alot of the apps I find from Amazon or the other store dont work, get jar sucks. Anyway I want to root it but I cant find out what kind of tablet it is so I can find out how to root the tablet since they are apparently all different.

Has anyone heard of this tablet? and can anyone help me root it? Thanks in advance.

Spider

Administrator
Staff member
Mar 24, 2011
Hi, congratulations on your new ProScan tablet and welcome to the forum. I'm moving your thread to the Android Tablet Q&A section for you, where more people are likely to join the discussion and try to help you identify that tablet. Good luck!

loganone

Oct 12, 2012
I will post what I did to get this tablet rooted and got google market to install on it. It was pretty simple really.

To root I used androidroot ICS - found here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1886460
Just follow the instructions there, make sure to reboot the tablet after every step.

For market. I installed gapps 2.3.4 - http://code.google.com/p/tookdroid/downloads/detail?name=gapps-2.3.4-120304.zip&can=2&q=
Followed the instructions here http://senk9.wordpress.com/2010/12/03/how-to-install-google-apps-gapps-on-your-android-device-phone/
You only need the apps in bold for basic function for the market.

These steps worked for me.

Oh, There is one other issue that you might come across with this tablet. The WIFI will not turn on. I hunted for a while to figure this one out, almost returned the tablet to big lots until I found an app called WIFIX Manager found here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1445766