Want to upgrade from Android OS 2.1 to Gingerbread 2.3.

omgrosiel

May 23, 2011
Hey there, I am a complete noob to this and I am trying to read and learn more about it. I lurked the forums for about an hour last night trying to learn what I needed to do to upgrade my Coby Kyros MID 7015. I have no clue what ROM is, root any of that and I read I could destroy mine if I didn't know what I am doing! Can someone point me to a website or a post that will teach me the definitions and explain what I need to do? I read the stickies but then I had more questions the more I read!

Thanks for your time. :)

EDIT: Oh I just realized my Samsung Galaxy Tablet that I also own has Froyo 2.2. I would just be happy with this on my Kyros too!

Last edited:

driggs

Apr 22, 2011
OMG,

At this time, we cannot flash the 7015 to Gingerbread and have everything working. There is a group trying to figure this out now, but it is not ready for us newbies. As far as rooting, it is not as dangerous as it seems. Once rooted, you can install a utility that allows you to backup your configuration (called ClockworkMod), so you can easily go back. At that point, it is simple to change ROM's (basically a ROM is the OS and software of the system). I highly recommend the HoneyComb ROM of Tipsters (it is still based off of 2.1, but runs much better/faster than the OEM version). The threads that I followed to root and install a custom ROM are listed in my post here.

omgrosiel

May 23, 2011
Thanks a lot, Driggs! Exactly what I wanted to know!

Sent from my SGH-T849 using Android Tablet Forum

Apr 28, 2011
driggs pretty much summed it up 4 u. another way to root (which i think is the same) which i used and helpful cuz its a video is this: YouTube - ‪Coby Kyros Android Tablet MID7015 Step by Step [HD]‬‏