A500 is getting a GPS fix...

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by davea, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. davea

    davea Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    My A500 would take forever to lock on sats and I could not navigate with it. Acer said send it in and they would repair under warranty.
    Thinking it was firmware or something I asked why can't they just push the software to me. The rep says they will be putting some part in or replacing something as well as software.

    This is all very interesting. It seems to be a tacit admission that something is definitely wrong with some of the A500's and they need to replace hardware.

    Oh well, at least I don't have to pay to have it shipped back to me.
     
  2. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Well you might not even have to send it back.

    Have you tried this: Acer Iconia, GPS How to make it work 1st Time. | Old Time Blogger

    Once you get the GPS Almanac downloaded (which can take a while), and keep it up to date by letting it idle with GPS on (say in maps or something) for a few minutes every day it will load and lock quickly.

    As for navigation, you do realize that the navigation with a wifi tablet requires one of the following:

    1) constant internet access (which you won't have once you are on the road unless you tether to your phone)
    2) with Google navigation you must: obtain a sat lock, select a destination, and start navigation while you still are connected to wifi.
    3) install a third party navigation package like https://market.android.com/details?...lt#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEsImNvbS5zeWdpYy5hdXJhIl0.
     
  3. davea

    davea Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    That's interesting. I think I will try it when I get my A500 back.

    I still think it's a curious thing that Acer wants to replace hardware in my unit also. I can tether to my phone so one way or another, I will finally have full functioning GPS.
     
  4. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    You place way too much trust in what was told to you by the idiots they hire to answer the phone. Most of these people are reading from a script and were flipping burgers last week. Everybody on this forum who has dealt with them ends up discovering they know nothing, and will tell you anything.

    They won't fix and return your tablet.

    If there is really something wrong with your tablet they will send you a factory refurb.

    Which means you inherit someone else's problems that they didn't fix during the regurb process (which largely consists of a tablet whip followed by software reload, and a cursory test. Anything that involves actual motherboard component replacement results in a scrapping of the tablet, and the expensive bits (screen, battery,) being sold to repair shops as parts. Board-level work (micro soldering) is simply not worth the time and effort.

    Its just economics. They probably pay around 6 bucks for the processor (the heart of the tablet) and it would cost them an hour of work to get it off the board, cleaned up, and sent back into production. Even at Chinese wages, it just doesn't pay.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. spexwood

    spexwood Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab & Sony Ericsson Xperia X10a
    *I retracted this post in fear of pissing someone off. It was pretty funny though*

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using Android Tablet Forum
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  6. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    I thought it was funny too. ;)

    Way I figure it, this is the internet, and people have to grow a skin or log off.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

does acer a500 have gps

,
does the acer a500 have gps
,
is inconia 500 has a gps