can't get DreamBook w7 to recognize sim card

Discussion in 'Freescale Based' started by curtismyname, May 11, 2011.

  1. curtismyname

    curtismyname Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I just got my DreamBook w7 and I can not get it to read my sim, I tried an ATT card and a local carrier and neither worked, I had an old sim I got in Thailand so I popped it in and the W7 recognized it but of course it's of no use to me in the USA. At first I thought it had a bad reader but after it recognized the Thai sim I was left back at sqaure one... I wonder if anyone has had this happen can I fix this with a firmware update? thanks!
     
  2. kopeland

    kopeland Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Mine doesn't have problems with my ATT sim (postpaid) even with old V16 firmware. Are you getting any errors?
     
  3. curtismyname

    curtismyname Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    No, just seems as if it can't tell the cards in, like I said when I insert my old sim from Thailand it will show SIMTH on main screen. Just a question, when it has no sim does it show any message like: NO SIM? Mine does not, although I know alot of phones will show this message. Very frustrating since I really like the unit and don't want to return it.
     
  4. curtismyname

    curtismyname Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I tried a friends card from same carrier I use and the Dreambook w7 recognizes that the card is inserted but says no service...can anyone point me in the right direction on this?
    Thanks, Curtis
     
  5. kopeland

    kopeland Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Hope you have it all sorted out. It is indeed a great tablet (not perfect but great). It could just be a defective device or maybe a locked unit. Some owners are also experiencing the same as reported to the Dreambook W7 forum.

    Good Luck!
     
  6. nurulain2509

    nurulain2509 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Malayisa
    Tablet / Device:
    W7 Dreambook Android 2.2
    i got pretty same problem here..my dreambook seem work with making phone call and send message but it can't read my sim phone book and connect to internet (my sim card is 3G)..someone please help???
     
  7. gfz

    gfz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Whilst using a 3G sim card with the Dreambook, you will need to add APN settings for your network provider to allow internet access.
     
  8. nurulain2509

    nurulain2509 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Malayisa
    Tablet / Device:
    W7 Dreambook Android 2.2
    how can i add APN settings?do i need to install some APN apps?
     
  9. Dreambook

    Dreambook Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tablet / Device:
    Dreambook W7
    In the settings menu. No app needed

    APN values are found on you network provider site. (somewhere under data settings or so)
     
  10. ChinaTabletSupplier

    ChinaTabletSupplier Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    China
    from the step:
    1. Insert your SIM card
    2. Restart your device
    3. Find the settings
    4. Click wireless & Network
    5. Then click mobile networks
    6. Access point Names
    7. New APN
    8. After finish all the settings, then restart the tablet
     
  11. amdewaard

    amdewaard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I had the same problem. Discovered you have to put in the sim card first and then do a "reset", start from scratch. BdW
     
  12. nurulain2509

    nurulain2509 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Malayisa
    Tablet / Device:
    W7 Dreambook Android 2.2
    i already try your method..but when i click on mobile networks,it keep ask me to register the network..i don't understand why it's like that
     
  13. DustoVanDusto

    DustoVanDusto Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Tablet / Device:
    Dreambook W7
    I entered all my APN info correctly, (I know because my wife has an android phone and hers works) but the only network that shows up is AT&T. It wont show my network (GCI). The process you have laid out doesn't work either.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

gci sim card recognition on android