Has anyone been able to compile the kernel?

Discussion in 'Lenovo IdeaTab A2109' started by FloRider, Dec 6, 2012.

  1. FloRider

    FloRider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    240
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo A2109
    I followed these directions:
    Development: A2109 Kernel development discussion - Lenovo Community

    When I finally got everything set up correctly, tho, I got a compilation error:
    arch/arm/mach-tegra/tegra3_speedo.c: In function 'tegra_init_speedo_data':
    arch/arm/mach-tegra/tegra3_speedo.c:451:1: error: expected expression before '.' token
    make[1]: *** [arch/arm/mach-tegra/tegra3_speedo.o] Error 1

    I haven't looked at the file, but this source was supposed to compile, and I have to assume the above poster got it to work...
     
  2. Ravak

    Ravak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    IdeaTab A2109
    • Like Like x 2
  3. FloRider

    FloRider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    240
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo A2109
    I figured it would work. I'm using Mint 13 64-bit. I'm going to try it again. Should I run the same commands, or should I change something?
     
  4. Ravak

    Ravak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    IdeaTab A2109
    I followed from A to Z (copy&pasted the commands) and had no issues.
     
  5. FloRider

    FloRider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    240
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo A2109
    It's frustrating. It seems like I'm the one who always has problems. What sort of kernel mods are you considering?
     
  6. Ravak

    Ravak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    IdeaTab A2109
    I'd love to have USB Mass Storage... So far I've got the device "Connected as an Installer" by running in terminal:
    Unfortunately with USB mass storage disabled in default kernel, my Linux box cannot enumerate the device:

    Trying to build the kernel with:
    doesn't work, as it reverts back to "not set".

    I'm totally new at this, it's my first time playing with Android kernel/OS - any idea what values CONFIG_USB_MASS_STORAGE accepts?
     
  7. FloRider

    FloRider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    240
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo A2109
    You mean "mass storage" as in a hard drive?
     
  8. Ravak

    Ravak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    IdeaTab A2109
    Yes. I don't like MTP/PTP modes ;)

    And as the update, this prevents me from adding USB mass storage:
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2012
  9. FloRider

    FloRider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    240
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo A2109
    CONFIG_USB_MASS_STORAGE may have a dependency "above" it. Usually it will tell you during the config. I'll take a look at the config files now.

    Edit: Ok, that was a waste of time. I looked at a fresh extract, and I think I need to build the configs first. Have you tried make tegra3_android_defconfig menuconfig?
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2012
  10. Ravak

    Ravak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    IdeaTab A2109
    Found the block, it's in drivers/usb/gadget/Kconfig:

    Will play with it later then. Any progress with your build environment? Maybe it's Codesource at fault - did you install ia32-libs?
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2012
  11. FloRider

    FloRider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    240
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo A2109
    No. How do I do that?
     
  12. Ravak

    Ravak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    IdeaTab A2109
    I just pulled the whole pack:
    Code:
    apt-get install ia32-libs
    Without it, the CodeSourcery wouldn't even install on 64bit distribution.

    Another idea, after you changed to Codesource (I saw you initially using something different on the other forum) did you "make clean" it?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. FloRider

    FloRider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    240
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo A2109
    Hmm... well, it installed. And I don't think I need to do a make clean since I wiped the dir and did a fresh source extract.
     
  14. Ravak

    Ravak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    IdeaTab A2109
    What's inside you tegra3_speedo.c file?
    Code:
    arch/arm/mach-tegra/tegra3_speedo.c:451:1: error: expected expression before '.' token
    In my case there's no . anywhere that line:
    Code:
    450:        }
    451:        core_process_id = iv -1;
    452:
    453:        if (core_process_id == -1) {
    
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2012
  15. FloRider

    FloRider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    240
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo A2109
    LOL! "..,,,,. core_process_id = iv -1;"!
    WTH? Well, now I know what to do. I don't get it. I am using a tar of the source. Somehow it got fouled up.
     

Share This Page