HELP Tablet keeps freezing

Discussion in 'Asus TF101/SL101 Forum' started by Makinnard, Dec 2, 2011.

  1. Makinnard
    Offline

    Makinnard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus EEE Transoformer
    i just got my brand new asus TF tablet today and it keeps frezzing up and almost all the apps i downloaded from market place crash. i have no idea why it keeps doing this as i just bought it from ebay brand new in sealed box.

    any help would be appreciated
  2. Frederuco
    Offline

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    501
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    First, have you installed any firmware updates?

    Go to the Settings App - About - Update - Check for Update. If one is available, tap down by the clock and it will have a notification for the update.

    The latest firmware update should be Build Version 8.6.5.19.

    If you have the latest version, or after you update to the latest version you should do a hard reset (will not wipe data).

    Hard reset - Disconnect from the charger and shut down your tablet (hold the lock button for 3 seconds and select OK on the Shutdown dialog box). Next, hold the VOL DOWN and while holding this, press the POWER BUTTON and hold both for 12 seconds or until some text appears in the top left corner. The next screen has 2 icons, left says Wipe, right is an Android. The right icon will have a green haze glowing behind it to indicate it is selected. Wait about 10 seconds and it will say "Cold-booting Linux" and it will start the Android OS.

    If it is still acting funny, perhaps a factory data wipe may be a good idea since your tablet is pretty new and you don't have much data on it. Back up any data you want that you put on the /sdcard/ (internal directory) and any app data using the "App Backup" app that is part of the latest update.
  3. Makinnard
    Offline

    Makinnard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus EEE Transoformer
    ok thanks ill/try that

    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Android Tablet Forum
  4. Makinnard
    Offline

    Makinnard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus EEE Transoformer
    just did it an laready it seems more responsive and quicker and thanks again

    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Android Tablet Forum
  5. Makinnard
    Offline

    Makinnard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus EEE Transoformer
    eh the reboot seamed to work but its/still doing the same thing then at times tablet frezzes and i have to restart it. would the os 3.2.1 have some thing to do with the frezzes and apps crashing?


    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Android Tablet Forum
  6. Frederuco
    Offline

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    501
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    That should not, I am running 3.2.1 and do not have app freezes and crashes.

    Which apps are freezing and crashing?

    I would try going to Settings - Apps - Manage - All - DMClient and then Force Close, clear data and clear cache.
  7. Makinnard
    Offline

    Makinnard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus EEE Transoformer
    yea its about all of my apps enven the market



    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Android Tablet Forum
  8. Frederuco
    Offline

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    501
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    If you go to Settings - Tablet - About - Build, there should be 4 numbers in a row, something like 8.6.5.19. What are those numbers?

    Also, what is the kernel version?
  9. Makinnard
    Offline

    Makinnard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus EEE Transoformer
    Build 8.6.5.19
    Kernel2.6.36.3

    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Android Tablet Forum
  10. Frederuco
    Offline

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    501
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    That is the latest firmware and build.

    I hate to suggest it, but if I was having those issues I would back up any data I put on the /sdcard/ (internal) memory to a microSD and then wipe the tablet and start over. Hate to suggest that, but that is all I can think of with everything else we tried.

    When reinstalling apps, I would just install one or two at a time and see if the stabiity changes (or if it is still force closing right after a wipe).
  11. Makinnard
    Offline

    Makinnard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus EEE Transoformer
    Ugh ok and to i wipe do i do thesame thing like when i rebooted

    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Android Tablet Forum
  12. Frederuco
    Offline

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    501
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    Either that (and get the Wipe Data on the left icon by tapping the VOL DOWN) or you can go to Settings - Privacy - Factory Data Reset
  13. Makinnard
    Offline

    Makinnard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus EEE Transoformer
    Ok if seems to work now and im wating what im installing

    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Android Tablet Forum
  14. Frederuco
    Offline

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    501
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    Glad you are back in business. I hate recommending a wipe but unfortunately it is necessary at times so you dontend up playing Frisbee with your TF and a brick wall!
  15. Makinnard
    Offline

    Makinnard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus EEE Transoformer
    Yeah now it likes to reboot it shelf with out me doing anything ugh im try calling Asus and see what infant tech supportbcan tell me :eek:

    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Android Tablet Forum
  16. Frederuco
    Offline

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    501
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    Man, that is not a good sign. I am going to guess they are going to suggest a factory reset...

    Try disabling your WiFi (put it in Airplane Mode) and see if that fixes it for a bit.
  17. Makinnard
    Offline

    Makinnard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus EEE Transoformer
    yea i called Asus tday and we did the same thing i have done, like wiping it and cold boot i think its called...and they told me that they will send me a box and to ship it back and they will replace it with a new one... it will just take 7-14 days

    but thanks/for the help

    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Android Tablet Forum
  18. Frederuco
    Offline

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    501
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    Awesome. Sucks you will be without for a while, but it will be worth it to get one that works right.

    I RMA'd my first TF to Newegg because the left speaker was 50% of the volume of the right and could not be fixed. Took 12 days to get it back, but well worth the wait!

    Keep us posted on your RMA experience. Most users have good experience but never tell the world.
  19. Makinnard
    Offline

    Makinnard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus EEE Transoformer
    haha yea asus said it should be about 5 days but you never kno but i cant send it out till money


    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Android Tablet Forum
  20. nltjbt
    Offline

    nltjbt Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus TF101
    We have a brand new Asus TF101 brought home from work today and it keeps freezing, exactly as described above. We have tried the reset to the point where you say the two icons will appear - neither of them respond to anything! it looks like the touchscreen just isn't working - is that a common fault?

Share This Page