Huawei S7 Useful Tweaks and Tips

Discussion in 'Huawei Ideos S7' started by xaueious, Nov 13, 2010.

  1. pvella

    pvella Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    I have learnt to backup all my applications and data in Titanium Backup before I start hacking around with stuff. Too bad I didn't do that before I lost all my Angry Birds levels :(
     
  2. buzzman

    buzzman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    north jersey
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei s7-Wpdn-nook-libre pro
    Sorry:( . I did use titanium back up before I had to reflash when my 1st attempt at apps2sd flopped. So I had a blank tablet. Put on tit. backup and by accident found all my apps! OMG, it really works!

    Sent from my S7
     
  3. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    I think this should be merged into the owners thread, because that's what the Nook Color guys are doing... I am itching to merge...



    Oh on Angry Birds, there is this: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.pommedeterresautee.angrybirdsunlock

    With Apps2SD on my G1 and the exposed microSD slot, I learned the hard way that you are not supposed to ever pull the thing out when the tablet is on, even if you mount the thing to your computer. Just don't take it out if you run Apps2SD. Ever.

    If you flashed the Singapore ROM, you have the option to allow 4 way rotation. If you use your tablet while lying on your side and plugged in, it is best to use 3-way orientation. That way you can rotate the charge cable out of the way and still be able to use the device in portrait mode.

    If you add the power control widget and use it to adjust the brightness, you can get a lower brightness level than adjusting it in the titlebar. Same idea with Quick Settings.

    You can use the menu button to unlock the screen.

    Default screen sleep is set at a stupid 10 minutes. Turn it down lower.

    YouTube ported from Android 2.3 works, but forces closes after a while. This can be fixed by clearing data. I will have to push another one back on later. I don't use the rotation or closed caption features anyway.

    Quickoffice for Notion Ink Adam works in tablet mode on the S7 (filebrowser will look different)

    CIFS rocks if you have videos shared on Windows machines.

    I guess that's it for now?
     
  4. chillykim

    chillykim Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    nextbook premium 8 se ICE 4.0.3
    Hello all- must i root to change my home screen? Too much junk: ie pics, weather, etc. Thanks! Love this site, BTW.. Spent hours learning.
     
  5. jhsband84

    jhsband84 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    Absolutely not! Touch and hold the widget and you'll be abe to drag it to the recycle bin. Then press the menu button and you can a dd different widgets and application shortcuts. You can also change the wallpaper there.

    Hope that helps.

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. buzzman

    buzzman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    north jersey
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei s7-Wpdn-nook-libre pro
    Now that's what i'm talking about Xaueious! I had a teacher who called stuff like this "nickel knowledge". It's not on the test but you never know when it will come in handy! Thanks for sharing.

    Anyway to link this to the "nookies" for reciprical sharing of good "stuff"? ( I belong to that club too- nook e-ink wifi) yet have hs7 owners find easily too?

    Sent from my S7
     
  7. buzzman

    buzzman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    north jersey
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei s7-Wpdn-nook-libre pro
    Or maybe I misunderstood your reference to the NOOKS? Any way, ok with me to move the thread if you want!

    Sent from my S7
     
  8. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    Uh... I just meant this sort of thread is basic information sharing between owners. So it might as well go into the owner's thread similar to what the Nook Color owner's thread is running.

    Edit:

    Forgot we had a tips thread already
     
  9. justinepeter

    justinepeter Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Tablet / Device:
    Android
    Both high and cold temperature shorten the lifetime of the battery. In real life the latter happens more often. When you are accessing broadband internet or doing something else that heats up your device, you have to keep in mind that overheated device can overheat the battery too which is very bad.
    This applies to mobile devices. Recharging battery while the device is switched off makes recharge time shorter.
    If you started to charge a battery try to don't abort the charging process. It can cause inaccurate power level indication and can decrease some batteries lifetime too.
     
  10. Viago

    Viago Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Huwaei S7
    ok my first post, ive been trolling hoping for a newer android os on S7 and what nots. and till my s7 2g internet stoped working....

    IDK if this has been posted but i found a fix for mt T-Mobile Data plan.

    For some odd reason my internet on T-mobile stoped working, and would only go to my.t-mobile.com with any web addy entered. after talking with a teki and wanted me to pay 14-50 bucks extra on my data/voice plan...and no garentee it would work.i did some reasurch and testing.

    i found my MCC and MNC to be in error. I used the settings from androidcommunity.

    Name: T-Mobile US
    APN: epc.tmobile.com
    Proxy: <not set>
    Port: <not set>
    Username: none
    Password: none
    Server: *
    MMSC: http://mms.msg.eng.t-mobile.com/mms/wapenc
    MMS proxy: <not set>
    MMS port: <not set>
    MCC: 234
    MNC: 30
    APN type: <not set>


    again some how either after reset my settings got funky or what..cause i thaught it would work right out of the box with T-Mobile.

    also a side note befor i changed mt apn settings Facebook would reconise devive as a motorola pebble or blur or something LOL. when i was on wifi that is.
     
  11. sheila114

    sheila114 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    Tablet / Device:
    ??
    Hi Viago,

    I attempted my regular tmobile sim card with the settings you provided but got nothing. I just wondered if you intended to put bng in the middle of the MMSC setting rather than eng. I use that MMSC setting with my prepaid data sim and it works fine.

    Thanks.

    Sheila
     
  12. Viago

    Viago Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Huwaei S7
    Ok so i am baffled. I set it, it worked. Now tmobile us is no longer listed.... However the settings i tride prior do work. wap.Voicestream.Com but only seems to work on Unicel towers.

    idk how the tmob us apn got deleted. Sorry for confusion.... I think i might need to reset and updat.?
     
  13. Viago

    Viago Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Huwaei S7
    When i went idle it stoped working... After i turnt it off/on it worked again. Lol
     
  14. Mdwills3521

    Mdwills3521 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7 Internet Tablet
    for some reason I can connect wpa wifi but not wep anyone else experiencing this

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
     
  15. Kenjifujima

    Kenjifujima Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I am using Wireless Tether and not having any issues.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to change from safe mode to normal mode in nook color android

,
how to hardreset huawei s7 104
,
huawei ideos s7 screen tips
,
huawei s7 for line app
,
huawei s7 tips and tricks
,
huaweis7-72 hard open
,
ideos s7 safe mode
,
reboot huawei in safe mode
,
tricks that i dont knw about huawei ideos s7
,

what is a send button on ideos s7