Mounting 2 drives at once?

Quantumcat

Apr 21, 2011
I am looking for a way to run 2 USB storage devices at once into my A500. I have a Toshiba USB hard drive that I have working without issue when I plug it into the USB port. The same thing for a SD card reader. What I want to do is plug both in at one time via a small USB hub I have and be able to transfer files directly between them. Right now it only seems to mount the first drive plugged in, and ignores the second. I am a photographer and want a way to back up my photos from the SD card over to the HD via my tablet. I am running ICS and do have it rooted. Any ideas of a app that will let me do this?

Frederuco

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jul 6, 2011
This appears to be a hardware limitiation of many tablets. The ASUS Transformer Prime with Dock has a limit of only one HDD per USB natively. The ASUS Transformer can support 2 via the dock due to 2 USB ports.

Over at TransformerForums, one of our members was able to mount a CF Reader and a HDD to transfer photos on a rooted Prime using the following command in a Terminal window:
Code:
mount -t vfat /dev/block/vold/8:65 /Removable/USBdisk2

Source: Mount Two USB Drives at the same time

Quantumcat

Apr 21, 2011
This appears to be a hardware limitiation of many tablets. The ASUS Transformer Prime with Dock has a limit of only one HDD per USB natively. The ASUS Transformer can support 2 via the dock due to 2 USB ports.

Over at TransformerForums, one of our members was able to mount a CF Reader and a HDD to transfer photos on a rooted Prime using the following command in a Terminal window:
Code:
mount -t vfat /dev/block/vold/8:65 /Removable/USBdisk2

Source: Mount Two USB Drives at the same time

Tried this line and got a "this directory does not exist" error. The Prime seems to have a slightly different directory layout than the A500.

Frederuco

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jul 6, 2011